Basics Mbili Girls

4 Jun

Time for a bit of a lazy post here … there is no possible way of taking bad photos of these two. I love this sculpt and I love this model. The Collection Red model, on the right, is the one buy I have made straight from the lists on eBay and not regretted, and she was relatively expensive. Recently, I’ve been experiencing a bit of a crisis of faith about the Basics Range – they’re marketed as dolls to accessorise and yes, the accessory packs are brilliant. However, the model muse body isn’t very poseable – they can’t even sit down, which annoys me. This model makes me want to stick with it and she’s probably one of my favourite dolls.

The Collection 001 model on the left is a more recent buy. When I first started collecting, I liked her face but I didn’t like her straight blonde hair so I passed her over. Now, I’ve warmed to her Leona Lewis do …

Mbili Basics

 

ADDITIONAL: My prayers have been answered, as I have just found out that basics collection 2.5 dolls (and hopefully all the basics dolls afterwards) are going to have jointed pivotal bodies. Brilliant news!

7 Responses to “Basics Mbili Girls”

  1. Maria June 4, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

    Have you seen the Basics on ASOS? They only have a few but £20 is about the cheapest I have seen them for in the UK….I got Model 5 in the post today (as well as Joan Jett!) and she is stunning..and if you like Red Hair dolls there a seller sellling collection 1.5 model 3 for £13

  2. barbielea June 5, 2011 at 12:04 am #

    I absolutely love 5, she’s on my hit list. And I love Joan Jett too. I have bought from ASOS but because I needed to be in on a certain day to collect, I paid for delivery which bumped it up from bargain basement to about average … My best buy yet was from an American eBay seller who sold me my favourite 002 model NRFB for £22 including postage but I’m still waiting to see if she turns up all in one piece. Lol the redhead I got her, and from the same seller! I liked her because she reminded me of Lana Turner, she’s very starlet – lucky for me she was my preferred doll from 1.5 so I was looking for her anyway …

    • Maria June 5, 2011 at 12:30 am #

      if you look on ebay there are sellers selling a ASOS discount code..I got one for 99p for a fiver off a £20 spend which made mine £16.which seems reasonable to me..
      No 2 is a stunner but I think I like her better in collection 2..but that seems expensive everywhere at the moment.I really like Asian dolls as well as the red heads..and I agree about the Lana Turner look of 3.The new Grace Kelly is amazingly lifelike Ive read American sites that say dont pay more than $20 for a basic…DOLLARS! We should be so lucky!

  3. barbielea June 5, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    Will try the discount code thing thanks! Sorry lol I wasnt being clear – the basic I just bought is from collection 002, which as you say is more expensive than collection 001 so I was chuffed with the price. (though yes the Lara face is lovely, I love the Juicy Couture dolls). Will post my collection 002 doll when I’ve got her. I so want Grace Kelly – and Elizabeth Taylor – but they’re high cost dolls and I can’t afford to take on another area of interest for a while. $20 -knocks me sick – AngelicDreamz had a sale recently and everything was going for pennies but by the time you’ve got it posted and having to bear import taxes in mind, there’s no way of really benefitting from it. Frustrating! Thanks for posting 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ali G Papped Smooching at the Sunshine Awards « barbiebeauties - May 13, 2012

    […] are mostly starved of male companionship, and despite the Dudley Moore-esque height difference, Basics Model 8 is doing her best to sound fascinated by his cheesy lines (he really is a talking […]

  2. Ali G Papped Smooching at the Sunshine Awards « barbiebeauties - May 13, 2012

    […] are mostly starved of male companionship, and despite the Dudley Moore-esque height difference, Basics Model 8 is doing her best to appear fascinated by his cheesy lines (he really is a talking […]

  3. Adventures In Rebodying (part 3) | barbiebeauties - August 9, 2013

    […] recently made a little more progress. Fashionista Nikki is not a good skin colour match for the Mbili faced Model 8 so I have used a So In Style Baby Phat Grace (on sale currently) for her rebody instead. Speed […]

Leave a Reply

