Lea 3 – Hard Rock

17 Jun

I think I said in an earlier post that the Hard Rock dolls don’t appeal to me enough to make me want to buy them. Well, now I have to take this back, as I recently got hold of this one …

Hard Rock Lea Doll 2006

I think Lea is my favourite sculpt and this version, produced in 2006, is a good one. She’s not as outre as some of the other HRC goth princesses (emo 2008, rockabilly 2009) – next to them her skull-and-crossbones tattoo and two tone ginger and black hair seem almost tame. Maybe this is why I could afford her without having to take a mortgage out. From some poking around that I’ve done on the internet, it seems that there is a dark-haired version of this doll which is more collectable. I don’t know who decided this, but they are wrong. Ginger Leas, as I hope to prove to you again soon with another acquisition I’m planning, are the creme de la creme of barbieworld.

HRC Barbie LeaHard Rock Cafe Doll 2006Hard Rock Lea 2006

2 Responses to “Lea 3 – Hard Rock”

  1. Maria June 17, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

    Ive been coveting her myself! Shes great…I do love Red haired dolls and oddly enough I just aquired a Hard Rock doll myself…I think its the Emo one she has blond and black hair and a spider tattoo? I like dolls that have that sort of slightly less ‘nice’ look about them…

  2. barbielea June 17, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    That’s the one I meant! She’s an amazing doll. I find it very strange that Mattel, in some ways the champions of nice, are producing these 🙂 thanks for posting

Leave a Reply

