Lea 5 – Secret Spells Kayla

1 Jul

Secret Spells KaylaRemember in my Hard Rock Lea post, I said that I was awaiting the delivery of another red-headed Lea? Well, here she is. I first saw Secret Spells Kayla on eBay, nude and unnamed, and I thought she was gorgeous, in a kind of pre-Raphaelite way – unfortunately the seller wasn’t shipping to my country. When I finally found out that she is Barbie’s Pagan/ Wiccan friend, I was even more eager to find her. Strange thing about this doll – new and boxed, she is attracting collector doll prices, but because she was only released in 2003, you can still sometimes find her second hand and usually cheap (that is, unless some other Lea collector starts bidding as well).

Though this playline range (there is also a Secret Spells Christie and of course, Barbie) was released on the back of the success of popular series like Charmed and Buffy, I still find it hard to believe that Mattel aligned themselves with the dark side. They must have known that a lot of Christians would be outraged. Do a google search about this if you get time, its an education on how strongly some people still feel that any allusion to witchcraft is evil. Just doing a bit of blurb about how the Secret Spells girls (also known as Charm Girls) only use their powers for good really wasn’t enough to get Mattel off the hook.

My Secret Spells Kayla came with her original clothes but without her cauldron and potion bottles (I’m not kidding). The dolls in this range have a “daytime look” and a magical gown that can be incorporated into this. I couldn’t bring myself to photograph this fabulous doll in this gown as its very playline indeed, so she’s shown in her daytime look. However, I did use the gown as a background as I quite like the pseudo-japanese hippy butterfly print round the bottom.

secret spells kaylaSecret spells kayla

 

 

 

 

5 Responses to “Lea 5 – Secret Spells Kayla”

  1. Maria July 9, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

    I got a nude off Ebay after seeing this….did you know there were 2 versions of her? They call them good and evil…I think the one I have is the ‘evil’ one. She is fab though..I put her in leather jeans and jacket so now shes really got that whole Buffy vibe going on. I would have to say her and my Really Rosy Lea are possibly the best combination of face sculpt and hair I have. Thanks for the reccomendation!

  2. barbielea July 10, 2011 at 10:11 am #

    No, I didn’t know there were two versions!! But now you say it, it makes sense – when I got this doll I thought she looked a little more sleepy round the eyes and had a slightly more benign expression than the first one I saw for sale, but I thought I must be imagining it. Does this mean I have the good version? If you think you have the evil version, does she look different to mine? Thanks for letting me know and I’m glad you like her.

    • Maria July 10, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

      The good version seems to have a lot more eyeshadow so Im not sure…heres the link where I saw both versions (theres a lot of other ones to covet too!)

      http://www.flickr.com/photos/52732885@N08/

      I think mine looks a lot like yours…and doesnt have the extra eyeshadow so Im really not sure. I wonder why they release the same doll with tiny tweaks? Perhaps it is purely to get us all wondering?!

  3. barbielea July 10, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    What a great link, thanks for that. Some Ive got, some I’ve seen but couldn’t afford, and some I’ll be keeping my eye out for now. I’ve just identified one I’ve got as well, very handy. Hmm will have to dig out the Secret Spells Kaylas and try to work it out. I actually have two, one dressed and one not – wouldn’t it be nice if It turned out I had one of each??

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lea 21 Revisited – A Tale of Two Countries | barbiebeauties - August 17, 2013

    […] dolls are out there. I’d heard about “good” and “evil” versions of Secret Spells Kayla but I did some research and couldn’t find any side-by-side comparisons (again, thoughts on […]

Leave a Reply

