Bat Babies

3 Jul

Mattel batman Tommy and catwoman Shelley

Strictly speaking, these aren’t mine – I bought them for my boyfriend who collects Batman stuff. This is why they are connected to their packaging, I would have set them free but he likes everything nice and mint. Before they arrived I wasn’t sure whether I would like them – generally there’s something a bit creepy-cutesy about Kelly and Tommy dolls, and not necessarily in a good way (she wears far too much makeup for a toddler, it reminds me of scary child pageants). Now I’ve got them, I’m actually quite pleased with them and so is my boyf.

I do think that Barbie’s take on Batman is a little bit hit and miss. I’m not a fan of Batgirl barbie and haven’t been tempted to buy. The 2003 Collector Catwoman is OK and I might buy at some point, but they should have done Michelle Pfeiffer Catwoman – or Eartha Kitt Catwoman, imagine that! Regarding the Halle Berry Catwoman Barbie, as I would rather rip out my eyes than ever watch that film again, I think its a big no from me. My Poison Ivy Barbie, which I will feature shortly I think, is lovely, but rather cheap-looking (and of course I think she should have looked a lot more like Secret Spells Kayla).

Pink label catwoman shelleyBatman Tommy pink label doll

4 Responses to “Bat Babies”

  1. Maria July 4, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

    Im awaiting my first Shelly at the moment…like you Im not really that keen but this one was wearing a Spongebob costume and in the picture looks just like she has been eaten by Spongebob and is now staring from his open mouth like something from The League of Gentlemen which made my daughter and I laugh (and creeped us out) so much we bought her just so we could see her in the flesh!

  2. barbielea July 4, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    OMG Just googled it – its Tommy who has been eaten by Spongebob – gruesome! Kelly (I originally put Shelley above but I just checked and I was wrong, its Kelly) comes in the set too – she’s dressed as Patrick the Starfish! Or being eaten by him, whichever you prefer … If I see her anywhere, I will give you a shout, you have to get the set now you’ve started! 🙂 thanks for posting

    • Maria July 4, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

      I just googled them too….they are possibly the weirdest dolls in the barbie range! Any ideas for any odder ones?

  3. barbielea July 4, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    I think some of the celebrity dolls are really odd and provide a very good illustration of what a different culture America is to us. Have you seen the “I Love Lucy” dolls? Weird and quite hideous. And the Rosie O’Donnell doll – who thought of that? And God, that really horrible Barbara Streisand doll. I could never sleep with that one in the house. The weirdest barbie I have ever seen is “growing up Skipper”. Unwise and very strange looking – I won’t spoil the surprise if you’ve not seen it, I’ll let you google it!

Leave a Reply

