Generation Girl Nichelle – Dance Party

7 Jul

barbie generation girl Nichelle

I bought this doll before I realised that she was a Generation Girl, because I love her curly hair texture. Her hair is matte rather than silky and it feels wooly. I have read several blogs by collectors of black dolls who speak particularly highly of Nichelle because of this.

This Nichelle is a Dance Party doll, released in 2000. She’s lovely, but she doesn’t show the attention to detail I have noticed in my other dolls from this range. For example, her fingernails are painted to match her lipstick, but she doesn’t have separated fingers. I didn’t buy her in her original outfit (I’m not bothered, I’ve seen it and I don’t like it very much anyway) but she is wearing her original jewellery. Its plastic but it does look like metal – SIS designers, take note! She’s wearing 2009 barbie fashion.

 

Generation Girl Nichelle (Dance Party)Nichelle, Asha face sculptDance Party Nichelle barbie doll

2 Responses to “Generation Girl Nichelle – Dance Party”

  1. generationnext October 12, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    Really awesome! i have a question. do you remember what they said nichelle’s and blaine’s style was? i remember Barbie was glam, lara was trendy, Tori was casual, chelsie was eclectic, mari was outrageous, and and ana was sporty if I remember…

    • barbielea October 12, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

      Hi! I’ve read most of “New York Here We Come”, which is a Generation Girls book (purely in the spirit of research, you understand) and in this Nichelle is described as an aspiring model who is reserved, stylish, soft-spoken and thoughtful. So I would hazard a guess at “classy” … although I’m not sure how classy her dungarees are (see my post in August). Blaine didn’t feature in this book (unless he’s right at the end, which I never got to before I lost the book) and I haven’t been able to get hold of a Generation Blaine yet, though I’ve tried. I know he comes with DJing equipment and outrageous sideburns, so maybe “boho musician”? I will look into it! Thanks for posting 🙂

Leave a Reply

