Speed Racer Trixie

14 Jul

I love a nice diva face, and I think this is the best one I have ever seen. I bought Speed Racer Trixie nude before I identified her, partly because of her unusual black bob and partly because of her great facial expression. I’ve not watched the film or the cartoon so I can’t put her in context, but I understand that she’s meant to be Christina Ricci. I actually think its a reasonable likeness, for a change.

barbie trixie speed racer Barbie Trixie Speed Racer barbie trixie speed racer model muse

 

 

 

Barbie Trixie wears Barbie Basics Collection 0o1 Model 4 dress, Collection 001 accessory pack 1 belt and Collection 002 accessory pack 3 shoes.

9 Responses to “Speed Racer Trixie”

  1. Maria July 14, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    I was just looking at a Tonner Velma Kelly from Chicago earlier and I actually think she is far more of a likeness to her than the Tonner (which is unfortunate as shes not TRYING to be Velma!) I think Mattel are giving it a bit more of an effort lately than they used to. I was very disapointed with my GWTW Barbie who looks NOTHING like Viven Leigh whereas the Tonner is just perfect..Perhaps Tonner are giving them the kick they need to do better?!

  2. barbielea July 15, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    Barbie Trixie’s black bob does give her that twenties look and you’re right, she would make a great Velma Kelly – I’ve noticed this and have plans for future projects (if I ever get round to it). Which GWTW do you have? They do all have that nineties Barbie look – bit too bright and cheery – but I have to admit a little hankering for the one in the Tara dress – the green and White one she wears at the start of the film, not the one she makes out of the curtains. I saw this last advertised on eBay recently as “barbie dressed as Maid Marion”, ha ha.

    You know, I moan but you’re probably right, Mattel are getting closer to producing decent likenesses. If you look at their old Marylin Monroes, they’re OK but the new one is much better, for instance. Competition probably does have something to do with it but I think they might also have started to feel better about making collector Barbies a bit more grown up than something you would give a child to play with. I think Mattel are now in a position to be more in touch with the interests of a wider audience of collectors thanks to the Internet, and this can only be a good thing for everyone involved. Thanks for posting πŸ™‚

  3. Maria July 15, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    Yeah I saw the ‘Maid Marion’ doll as well! I must confess thats the one I like least. I have the Red Dress one..I had a specal reason for wanting it as my Daughter is named Vivien Scarlett after the film so the red dress was a must have..but the Twelve Trees Picnic one is so iconic too..and I know what you mean about future projects…I have more good ideas than time it seems! I always marvel at the people who really make such things happen such as the woman on flikr who has played out the entire Mayfair Witches saga by Anne Rice with basics and other dolls and if you have ever read those books you’ll know it has a cast of what seems like millions!
    Im getting very into interesting face sculpts…I love the 80s dolls but I bought a Tonner doll yesterday because I just found her so beautiful…it was the Lord of the rings Arwen and she looks so much like Liv Tyler its a bit scary! The Cher and Barbara Striesand dolls are great examples of the interesting rather than sickly sweet pretty I really hope they make more like that….

  4. barbielea July 15, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

    Had a look before, somebody must have told the seller because the listing has now changed to “Barbie dressed as Scarlett O’Hara” πŸ™‚

    I too am obsessed with unusual sculpts and I absolutely love the Cher dolls, I’ve come so close to buying one so many times. It’s nice to have dolls to aspire to buying, though – I’ve realised that unless I win the lottery, I’ve got to see collecting as a long-term thing, rather than wanting everything now now now … I’m concentrating on second hand playline at the moment in an effort to slow myself down a bit, and it’s working I think (though I still have a fair few collector dolls to share yet). In fact, doing up second hand is more fun in some ways. Hmmm, the Barbara Streisand doll, I think we will have to agree to disagree … I think Barbara Streisand is lovely in real life, but I don’t like the doll at all. To be fair, I should really have a look on Flickr as I’ve not seen any close-up shots. Will let you know if I change my mind! πŸ™‚

  5. nic March 10, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

    When I cam across this post, I thought, wow they made an ‘Amelie’ Barbie… haha and it turned out to be Christina Ricci as Trixie. Weird fact: I’m watching PanAm right now!

  6. barbielea March 10, 2012 at 11:58 pm #

    Never heard of it before! Googled it and just loved the look of the stills, though. Audrey Tatou would make a great Barbie

  7. Emily Hall February 19, 2014 at 4:55 am #

    Oh my god if I could just paint her eyes blue she would be the perfect Mia from Pulp Fiction. Just give her a cigar and some black pumps.

    • barbielea February 19, 2014 at 12:38 pm #

      She’s a wonderful doll – she would make a great Mia – I also think she would make a great Roxy from Chicago (have I said that before, I dunno)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Adventures In Rebodying (part 3) | barbiebeauties - August 9, 2013

    […] Model 8 so I have used a So In Style Baby Phat Grace (on sale currently) for her rebody instead. Speed Racer Trixie has been swapped with a Raquelle (the wave with the little dogs) who I found on the ex-catalogue […]

Leave a Reply

