We’re back

23 Jul

Barbie in handmade dress

I love making clothes, but Barbie Summer’s seaside inspired dress took me absolutely bloody ages. I really need to start using the sewing machine!

Barbie in handmade seaside inspired dress

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 Responses to “We’re back”

  1. Maria July 25, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    Ah did you have a good time?! Love those candy colours on the dress…I too need to get the confidence to use the machine….Im slow by hand but I feel like I know what Im doing..

  2. barbielea July 25, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    Yes, it was lovely thanks 🙂

    Yes, I think some stuff would always need to be done by hand but on simple hems using the sewing machine would save loads of time. One day! I’ve been meaning to ask, Maria, do you have a site or a blog somewhere? If so, I would love a link.

    Thanks for posting

  3. Maria July 25, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

    My daughter keeps telling me to start a blog but Im not sure it would be focused enough. As well as the Barbies I have other oddments from Monster High and Begoth dolls to Tonner and Madame Alexander! In another life I was a writer though, and to this day my review of Legally Blonde is about the 37th most read in the WORLD!! Yes, if you have read 36 reviews of Legally Blonde and feel like you could do with just one more it is mine you will come across…hows that for fame?;)
    I keep meaning to start perhaps a general blog (Political rants, book reviews, and stuff about my Cats probably!) with a doll offshoot but I think that would mean showcasing my horrible photo skills! If I do it I will be shameless and post a link here I promise!

    • Bat6660 July 26, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

      Maria, do not get claire started on Cats, she has 3 of them, I am sure she would have many more if i was not around x

      • Maria July 26, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

        Thats my problem….no-one to stop me and I have 6! Again like the dolls I have a weird selection of Ginger toms, old lady cats and spoilt persian!…Its a good job they dont sell them on Ebay..;)

  4. barbielea July 26, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    Maria – it sounds like you’ve got a great collection and doing a blog is a nice way of enjoying it/ keeping track of it, I’ve found (it also means you aren’t as tempted to make your nearest and dearest listen to endless stuff about dolls, which is probably nice for them). Photography is easier these days as well – 1.make sure doll is tidy 2.find camera with macro setting 3.take some pictures 4. Fiddle around with pictures 5. Post! I’m no genius at it myself, but I’ve started to enjoy it through doing this, it’s quite a creative thing to do. Ah well – if you do, let us know!

    Bat 6660 – cat fascist! Kiss kiss x

Leave a Reply

