Doll Challenge – Glam N Jam Barbie

28 Aug

There are some dolls that aren’t beautiful, but they should be. In my opinion, Glam N Jam Barbie is one of these dolls. There are some good elements there – the blonde and purple hair, a sort of glamorous rock theme. The doll’s face isn’t great, though, and she’s easy to come by second hand.

In my first ever post back in May, I told you how I came by this doll. Ever since then, I’ve been planning to have a go at OOAKing her. Today, as it was either this or have another fight with the sewing machine, I gave it a go.

 

Glam N Jam Barbie

Before ....

 

Glam N Jam Barbie with face paint removed

 

Glam N Jam Barbie re-painted Glam and Jam Barbie with face re-paint

After ...

 

My boyfriend says she looks like Daryl Hannah on drugs – I don’t mind this, it could have turned out worse and this is kind of what I thought this doll should look like in the first place. It took me three complete removals of face paint before I got to something I was sort of happy with. In the end, I only managed it by doing my best to keep it simple and not try for fancy shading or anything. I also gave her hair a little re-condition – its still wet in the photo but I like this effect as it kept it sleek, so I might actually gel it into this style. Her dress is playline Barbie 2009 from a fashion pack.

5 Responses to “Doll Challenge – Glam N Jam Barbie”

  1. Maria August 29, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    Id say Daryl in Blade Runner actually! Go with some punkesque clothes and you’re onto a winner!;)
    Is it easy to remove the face paint? Ive seen a doll I like but not keen on the lips as they seem really pale…would it be easy to just do lips do you reckon? I dont think I have the confidence to go for the eyes just yet!

    • bat6660 August 29, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

      If Claire had sprayed completely across the eyes then Bladerunner it would be Maria.

  2. barbielea August 30, 2011 at 8:19 am #

    Removing the face paint is not as easy as you would think. Sometimes it just melts off, darker colours are prone to smear and require going back over a few times. I found kitchen paper soaked in nail varnish remover was best, though you have to work fast before the paper absorbs it all. Any little nooks, a cotton bud is best. make sure you wash all the nail varnish remover off before you start painting.

    I found doing lips a little bit trickier than eyes, because the surface is more contoured so it’s harder to get your brush where you want it to go. If you’re just changing the colour to a darker one, the easiest way to do it would be an overpaint – leave the original paint on so you have a line to follow (this is what I did with the My Room Tori I featured a little while back). If the doll has parted lips or teeth like mine did, it makes it trickier – try practicing on an old doll with a similar mouth so that you have some experience of getting the inner line right. Use the tiniest brush you can find and make sure you have a cotton bud with nail varnish remover on, to correct any mistakes. Make sure you have a good source of daylight where you’re working. And beware – it’s a bit addictive! Good luck with it! And thanks for posting 🙂

    Ps. I will do a real Daryl Hannah in Blade Runner one day, when I’m good enough!

  3. Maria August 30, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    Yeah I forgot its a full black strip for Blade Runner! Ive recently done a doll that is quite Blade Runner/Cyber punk-esque but its an Ellowyne..Ive started some blogging too (Many fingers in many pies! My health still isnt 100% so its bits and bobs where I can really) tho its really only messing about with the format so far….heres the link if you would like a look

    http://rosesinvelvet.tumblr.com/
    Cant wait to see a full Blade Runner tho…LOVE that film..hell Im just a Nerd really!

    Im really getting into wigged or scalped dolls…they are just so dammed changeable and I think doing a facepaint would be the next step up from that..obviously Syberites and FR would be the way to go but maybe if money was no object…I could always refuse to pay bills or eat I guess?! ; ) But for 16″ dolls you can get Liv wigs to fit as well as japanese punky ones from China for a few quid and a wig cap can be made really easily from a non inflated balloon so its definately something you can do on a budget..I think Barbie wears a 4-5 wig so I will have to look into scalping her too!
    Thanks for the advice tho…I might just go over the lips if I do get the gal Im looking at…at the moment she looks like shes been scoffing cream cakes!;)

  4. barbielea August 30, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

    Ha ha balloons – I’ve been trying to think what I could make wigs with. Ive got some of those cheap hair extensions from the pound shop (it feels like Saran, not sure if it is or not) and I plan to experiment with a re-root and maybe even some handmade wigs soon. I’d like a LIV and I’d love a Moxie teen, as I also like the idea of a wigged doll. Maybe one day.

    Love the blog, will keep checking back.

Leave a Reply

