So In Style Part 5(b) – Smarty Pants

11 Sep

So In Style in vintage and home-made fashionBarbie Kara and Trichelle restyledBarbie Grace and Kara restyledSo In Style re-styledKara and Chandra re-styledTrichelle restyledGrace re-styled

 

Hi …. sorry for the big pause, a general feeling of unwellness blossomed into a really hideous tooth infection so for once, I’ve not had Barbies on the brain for the last week or so. However, I am now antibiotic-ed up to the gills, so I’ve actually finished a project I’ve been planning for a while. The So In Style crew wear some vintage Barbie trousers in these pictures and to tie it at all together, I’ve made four tops from the same black satin material. I love the way this stuff looks, but its not easy to work with – it starts to fray as soon as you cut it so you have to work quick and leave yourself a good-size seam allowance, its also not stretchy at all so there’s no room for error (I get round this by actually sewing it on the doll as far as I can, rather than relying the accuracy of my measurements). I only used a pattern (from Simplicity 4702) for Kara’s top, the others I sort of made up as I went along. I will include some instructions about how I made them at some point in the coming week.

 

 

One Response to “So In Style Part 5(b) – Smarty Pants”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lea Goes Vintage – Part One « barbiebeauties - April 21, 2012

    […] look surprisingly good – and even if it doesn`t, its fun to try styling with it. I`ve tried vintage on SIS and I think this turned out OK, and I`ve experimented with vintage on Flavas, which didn`t work out […]

Leave a Reply

