Ghost of Christmas Presents – Amy Winehouse

7 Jan

20120107-191013.jpg

20120107-191038.jpg

20120107-191051.jpg

Here`s some pics of a doll I made for my boyf`s daughter for Christmas. She`s a big Amy Winehouse fan (and knows I am fond of her music and her style too). She sent me a picture of an Amy Winehouse OOAK a while ago, saying she thought it was great and that she really wanted one. It wasn`t one of the fancy lifelike paints (like at http://www.hydroponicsonline.com/store/Amy-Winehouse-tribute,OOAK–REPAINT-doll-by–Orchideah-_220866411723.html), nor was it one of the many dolls you will probably have seen on eBay etc, which have just had some big eyeliner felt-tipped on and their dark hair ratted up. It was one I`d seen before on other blogs and lists, although I haven’t been able to find out who made her – you can see a picture at http://amywinehouse.forums.umusic.co.uk/t/3210.aspx if you are interested.

I thought, maybe I could do that, so I had a go. I`m not so happy with the pics (I was rushing on Christmas eve so I could get her wrapped up) because I was quite pleased with how her tattoos turned out and these didn`t show up very well. I used this Disney doll (not sure who she is?) as the base doll …

20120107-191221.jpg

This was a good deal because Amy`s hair was basically ratty extensions, which looked like mussed up doll hair anyway so I only had to sew it into a lopsided beehive shape to get a good look. Her face wasn`t ideal, as the chin is too pointed and the nose too cute and pixie-like (and I`m not good enough to correct these faults with shading like some painters can) but the eyes are naturally slanted which meant that applying her cat`s-eye trademark makeup was easy. Overall, I was quite pleased with her, although I really could have done with an airbrush for the shading and the blush (I`m working on it). The tattoos were really fun to do, and I`d love to do more tattooed dolls in future. For her outfit, I really wanted to do the “bra straps showing under dress’ look. Sewing the tiny bra took nearly a full day, but I was very pleased with it in the end. I also made her little black dress, as a modern barbie dress would probably be too baggy at the waist.

I was really nervous about actually giving this to the boyf`s daughter as a present, but I`m pretty sure she was pleased with it. I included a stand, and the little bottle of wine you can see in the photos.

5 Responses to “Ghost of Christmas Presents – Amy Winehouse”

  1. Bat6660 January 9, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

    Charlotte loved the doll very much, thank you for all the hard work and talent you put in to pull the idea off. xxx

  2. discodiva79 September 17, 2012 at 1:03 am #

    OMG! You did a helluva job! I love it!!!!! You are so damn creative!

    • barbielea September 17, 2012 at 7:34 pm #

      Just copying really … it was a fun project but I think I could have done better. We practice and learn! Thanks

  3. Lon April 12, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

    I asked over on the MLPArena’s Dollhouse section. FairyDust figured out that the base doll was a Tuptim from The King &I, manufactured by Playmates.

    • barbielea April 12, 2013 at 9:08 pm #

      Thanks! I always like to know about any unidentified dolls. I do feel a bit guilty now, though. I’ve never seen one of these dolls before or since and I’d rather have used a very common doll … o well, too late now

Leave a Reply

