Sindy Special 1 – Jolene

14 Jan

In “Barbie`s Queer Accessories” (see my post “Reading Part Two” from September for further details) Erica Rand discusses how unreliable childhood memories really are. They can be vivid, meaningful and incredibly detailed, she says – and still completely false. I came across a very strange example of this recently.

As I mentioned in my first ever post, at about the age of 15 I bought my first Barbie as a collector. This is nearly what happened, anyway. I didn`t think “I know, I think I`ll start collecting dolls”, I just saw a doll I liked at a time when I had a bit of money and ended up taking it home. I was fascinated by this doll (although looking at her now, I don`t think she`s particularly pretty – I do love her, but I have to admit that she looks a bit like a made-up skull). I had no idea why I`d bought her. Things sort of developed from there.

I called this doll Jolene. I don`t really remember why, maybe I`d heard the song on the radio or something. I don`t usually name my dolls as it doesn`t appeal to me, but Jolene sort of stuck.

I know a fair bit about different Barbie faces now, and when I went back to collecting last year, I remember vaguely thinking about Jolene and how I`d never seen her face anywhere else. I had, actually, but it took a quite a while for the penny to drop. I was sitting there one day thinking about something else entirely when suddenly, it dawned on me that that my first Barbie wasn`t a Barbie at all. She was a Sindy. I checked her neck, but if you know anything about dolls its obvious.

20120114-222837.jpg

20120114-222905.jpg

Of course, I`ve seen loads of photos of Hasbro Sindys (although never any of Jolene – I`ve not been able to find out what sort of Sindy she is, so if anybody reading this knows I`d really appreciate the information). I even own some (other) Hasbro Sindys. There`s no reasonable explanation as to why I blanked on this particular doll. I bought her – I must have opened the package, and the package must have said “Sindy”. What the hell? Should this blog have been called Stunningsindys? How come I convinced myself that she was a Barbie, against all the evidence to the contrary?

Maybe I did some self-censoring – as I came to define myself as a collector of Barbies, Sindy got pushed out of the picture. However, the thing is, I do still buy Sindys. I`ve already featured two as off-topic dolls and I`ve recently realised that I have about nine more waiting in the wings. If I feature these as off-topic dolls it`ll take me forever and I also have other kinds of off-topic dolls I want to post about. As my collecting roots are clearly just as (if not more) Sindy as they are Barbie, I feel justified in introducing a separate series of posts just for these dolls, so more to follow …

2 Responses to “Sindy Special 1 – Jolene”

  1. Bea August 31, 2016 at 2:28 pm #

    Hi! Did you ever find out which Sindy this was? I have just acquired the exact same doll in a bundle with a 3 wishes sindy and make me up sindy, however I have absolutely no idea who this one is. Thanks for your time πŸ™‚

    • barbielea September 1, 2016 at 5:39 pm #

      Hi Bea πŸ™‚ yes I did – Jolene is a “Cool Shades” Sindy, a small-box doll who came wearing the swimsuit and bangle in the pictures, together with (and I had completely forgotten about this until I saw the box photos on Google) some VERY cool shades. Hope useful πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

