Lola

11 Feb

20120211-213358.jpg

I know absolutely nothing about the phenomenon that is Hannah Montana, which is just the way I like it. However, I`ve recently acquired several teenage dolls and I am having a fine old time identifying them because my ignorance on this subject means I can`t even recognise them from the characters they are based on (I know nothing about High School Musical either).

I gather that this doll is a character called Lily – Lola when she transforms into an emo popstar. Her hair can be changed from blonde to pink, much like Glam N Jam Barbie, who I repainted last year, but the change is much better done, and – this kind of freaked me out because I wasn’t expecting it – she giggles when you move her scalp. She sings too, which charmed the pants off my three year old son, but didn`t have the same effect on me. I didn`t know about this feature either and there`s nothing scarier than a doll that starts singing unexpectedly.

I got her because of her lovely little mock-rock outfit. I particularly like her socks with the punk slashes in them. I was also intrigued by her face sculpt, which didn’t look very teen doll to me at all. Usually they are mugging away for all they are worth, and she has these very calm, serene eyes and only the barest flash of teeth. When I was identifying her, I came across some mention of her use of the Midge/ Diva sculpt, which I didn`t believe at first. I got some of my Midge-faced dolls out to compare, and I can see it now. Her nostrils and philtrum are less well defined than Midge’s, and she doesn’t have the faint lines from corner of nose to mouth that Midge usually has, but perhaps this has been changed to give her a more youthful look. The shape of the face is practically the same. Here`s some pictures of her with some already-featured Midges (see my post on Native American Midge in Aug 2011 where I posted a picture of this Mermaid Midge, and my post on Ski Fun Midge in Oct 2011) – see what you think:

20120211-220528.jpg

20120211-220539.jpg

6 Responses to “Lola”

  1. betjemul February 12, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

    Hello,
    I really enjoy reading your blog.
    About Lola, I have her too and mine has 1965 at the back of the neck. This cannot be Diva headmold, that’s from 1985. I thought it could be an old Skipper headmold.
    Kind regard,
    Betjemul

    • barbielea February 12, 2012 at 4:44 pm #

      Hello Betjemul, nice to hear from you. I’ve just gone back and re-examined my dolls’ head markings, and I agree – Lola’s is 1965 and Midge is 1985. However, their faces – apart from round the nose and top lip – are undoubtedly similar. Puzzling. I shall look into it. Thanks for commenting, glad you enjoy the blog 🙂

      • Kerri Barker June 17, 2012 at 6:43 pm #

        Hello – I am a collector of the Midge (Diva) face. I have been looking for the Lily/Lola doll since reading your blog and finally found one on eBay. I know what “betjemul” wrote about the date on the back of her neck but, when I look at the photo of the doll in box that the Lola/Lilly 2-in-1 Style doll comes packaged in, I see the Midge (Diva) face looking back at me. I wish I could post the photo so you could see it. I think you would agree. You posted that you would look into this – have you found out any new info?

      • barbielea June 17, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

        Hi Kerri, nice to hear from you. Nope, all the sources I have found (including Katti’s Dolls, my most trusted site – she knows EVERYTHING) just take it for granted that Lola IS a Diva/ Midge. Nobody mentions the head markings. I remember that I did check under a magnifier, and I agreed with Betjemul that it read “1965”, but I suppose we could both be wrong as the markings on Lola are very very small! – have you checked?

        Failing a mistake on our part – I doubt that this mould was a Skipper, as I read a blog by a collector who has examples of every Skipper, and there is nothing in her collection resembling Lola. So I’m stumped and its been driving me mad – I really don’t like to be stumped about this sort of thing! My last-ditch hypothesis is that its a typo and should really read “1985”. I suggest this because a) the mould used for Lola does not look anything like the dolls produced in 1965, adult or child, and b) I agree with you, Lola does have some points of difference but these are superficial and I believe they have been made to make her look more tween. The shape of the face and the mouth is exactly the same.

        Anyway, thanks for commenting. If you come across any further information, please do let me know – and I’m sorry I can’t give you a definitive answer, I would love to be able to!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Clearout – Sorting Out Skipper « barbiebeauties - June 8, 2012

    […] Closest to furthest away, they are – tatty Sharpay, some sort of Hannah Montana doll (never looked into it as I couldn’t be bothered), repainted Japanese HSM Gabriella, better-condition Sharpay, another non-painted Gabriella, two rebodied Dancing Princesses (I also have an original-bodied brunette Dancing princess in the doll drawers somewhere) and Lola. […]

  2. Cloud E Sky | barbiebeauties - December 31, 2013

    […] as my dolls’ dolls (this is completely Tagi’s fault). Here is Cloud with my Emo Tween Lola, don’t they look great […]

Leave a Reply

