Box or Debox? Girls Aloud Nadine

17 Feb

20120217-214425.jpg

20120217-214439.jpg

20120217-214448.jpg

There was quite a lot of fuss about these dolls at the time of their release. I wasn`t collecting then, definitely not collecting. Noooo, not me. I was making an INVESTMENT BUY. I allowed myself just one, and I kept her in her tube although I was dying to take her out. Taking her out of the box would have made a lie of my justification for buying her in the first place, as usually, deboxed dolls sell for less than boxed versions, so I kind of felt I had to keep her in.

These days, boxed dolls make me a bit sad. Let me explain. We have a friend who collects music memorabilia and he says a record that has never been played – not once – is particularly valuable. Imagine having a record you really like and never playing it! Why not just get any old record and pretend to yourself that its got the song you like on it? If you never use the thing you collect for the purpose it was intended, its just a lump of stuff, furniture. Of course, many boxed dolls are very pretty to look at, but I don`t want something like a painting or sculpture, and boxed dolls are so much more inconvenient to store anyway. And its true that I don`t use the things I collect for exactly the purpose they were intended as I don`t play with them like a child would, but I suppose what I`m doing is a grown-up version of playing. These days, there`s only a few situations when I would keep a doll NRFB (never removed from box). If I`m not sure I`m going to keep her and I know I`ll knock a good chunk of money off her value by removing her, then I might. I might store her with or in the box after I`ve taken her out, if the box is fabulous.

But with poor old Nadine, none of this applies. Her tube doesn`t add much to her appearance, does it? And although they`re worth more than the average playline doll from this time, we`re hardly talking big bucks. Its just that I`ve kept her like this for so long, and I think I`m finding it hard to shake my original determination about it. I wish I`d just bloody done it in the first place.

By the way, do you think she`s got an angel face sculpt?

4 Responses to “Box or Debox? Girls Aloud Nadine”

  1. chicovintage June 24, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

    Maybe you are refering to the Goddess Headsculpt, and yes, you are right. It´s always confusing for me to distinguish the goddess from Kayla (that´s why i bought this gorgeous girl).
    Chicovintage (Spain)

    • barbielea June 24, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

      Hello Chicovintage! Funnily enough, I’ve had this issue again today with a different doll – can’t decide if she’s a Lea/ Kayla or a Goddess. Thanks though – its nice to get it confirmed! Best wishes 🙂

  2. discodiva79 July 27, 2012 at 5:41 am #

    My philosophy is: Life is too short not to de-box!

    • barbielea July 27, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

      Still haven’t done it, still thinking I’ll do it any day now … sigh 🙂

Leave a Reply

