Fallen Angel

2 Mar

20120302-153010.jpg

20120302-153026.jpg

So, I did promise – here`s one of my birthday presents this year (thanks boyf). As Maria pointed out in her comment on an earlier post, there are parallels to be drawn between the Generation Girl range and the Stardoll range. Fallen Angel is an updated version of Mariko Nanako, but with a deeply gothic twist. The studded heart handbag! The leopardskin tights! Good grief, what has been on the CD player in Barbie`s pink corvette recently?

I am so conflicted about these dolls. On the one hand, there is no denying that this is a deeply interesting, well executed, well packaged and very beautiful doll. On the other hand, with Stardoll, Mattel have taken the things I liked least about the Basics range and really pushed the boundaries with them. This doll can`t sit down at all, in fact her whole body is pretty much frozen into position. Its only because her arms and her head have some movement that she can be called a doll as opposed to a statue or a figurine. This is entirely purposeful, I think, as she comes with a stand but not with a hairbrush, indicating that she is meant to be displayed and looked at, but not played with. At the same time, the Barbie ranges aimed towards younger children (eg the more pink ones) have bodies that are specifically marketed as highly poseable. Maybe this is the key to understanding this situation actually – by creating these dolls as statues rather than playthings, maybe Mattel are saying “listen, tween girls, we know that you`re too old to be playing with dolls now. So here`s an avatar for you that`s beautiful and stylish, but its not really a doll, see?” The double whammy, I suppose, is that there are also plenty of collectors who will love the look of these dolls (rooted eyelashes are always a winner) and will not be particularly bothered about whether they can be made to pose extensively as they are headed for the display stand in any event. As for the rest … as I have said before, I think Mattel are well aware that some collectors will feel obliged to spend more money buying a Fashionista or a model muse pivotal so that they can rebody this doll. To be honest with you, although I think its a pretty underhanded way of going about things, the latest line of Fashionistas seemed to have dropped in price, so I`m tempted to do this myself, if I can find a decent colour match for Fallen Angel.

Lastly, its worth mentioning that this doll comes with a week`s membership to an “online community”. This sounds pretty grim to me, but I am considering checking it out in the spirit of research. If I do, I will let you know what transpires.

20120302-160039.jpg

20120302-160053.jpg

10 Responses to “Fallen Angel”

  1. Maria March 3, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    Ahhhh you got her! She is beautiful but Im saddened to hear that shes so…solid! You would think with the popularity of BJD’s they would have taken that into consideration?
    ON a related note I got Operaetta yesterday (It was Goth doll day here…I also got Delilah Noir and a Nude Bella from Twilight…yes, Ive been bingeing!) and she is possibly the BEST of all the MI dolls I have seen so far…the detail is incredible for what is a playline doll. I can see why a LOT of collectors rate them so highly…

    • barbielea March 3, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

      I am envying you your Bella – had a chance to pick one up still boxed on the cheap last year and opted for something else instead, still regretting it (although I must say I`m really not a big Twilight fan, the dolls are pretty fine). Hey, I thought you`d sworn off the little fellas?

      If you`re interested, I saw a great photoshoot with an Operetta yesterday, pics at Doll`s Eye View:

      http://dollseyeview.wordpress.com/2012/02/21/operetta-pinup-queen/

      Thanks for posting Maria πŸ™‚

      • Maria March 3, 2012 at 11:23 pm #

        Wow that was a great set of Operetta pics! I think Im getting better on the photos but Im not nearly that good yet…have you seen the rahling backdrops?

        http://www.raihing.com/

        They do sizes for all size dolls and are really cheap

        Ive bought one and the quality is excellent but I havent got round to using it yet! DDs boyfriend is making me a frame for them but its taking a while! You dont NEED one tho…

        The route im taking with collecting is kinda Im just having what I like and since I like the lil MI guys I got a few of them…the Bella is a Tonner though…I have her, Edward, Victoria, Alice and Jasper now…I keep begging Tonner to make a Michael Sheen sculpt and Ive argued it would be excellent value as it could be used for Twilight, Tron AND Underworld! lol!
        I really love Tonner character dolls as they really do seem to try to get the looks right and its really easy to connect with the company and ask questions and suggest things and if you dont mind hunting things down, not that expensive..I paid $15 for Bellas Prom outfit and $30 for the nude doll the hard part was waiting to get BOTH! But there are lots of boards where you can ask about. Americans seem to buy impulsively and then sell on just as quickly. There was a huge flurry about Ellowynes new friend at the begining of the year and Ive just (by being patient) managed to pick up a repainted doll with a custom dreadlock wig for only $30 more than the basic doll…the clothes are so much better on the 16″ girls as you can also buy from Japan which is a HUGE market as you know!
        Anyway thats my evangelical rant about the bigger girls! I do love the FR and Integrity girls too..I was going to get an AG a few weeks back just to see if I liked her as she was only $30..but someone beat me to her! Are you still mostly collecting Mattel?
        Maria
        x

  2. barbielea March 3, 2012 at 11:49 pm #

    I think I’ve seen some of these backdrops on eBay, yes they do look good – I might try one and see how it works out. Yes I am mostly, though not exclusively, collecting Mattel, I don’t even look at Tonners – get thee behind me, Maria πŸ™‚ of course, now I’m going to have to look Bella up …

  3. Lon April 11, 2013 at 10:32 pm #

    Oh man. I was so disapointed when I realised that she wasn’t jointed. I loved the look of the body as well as the fashion and face but I expect dolls to be AT LEAST 5 points with click-knees. So I passed on her. Now, the comparision of her to Mariko, who I also loved….Mattel, why do you break my heart?

    • barbielea April 11, 2013 at 10:50 pm #

      Lol, why indeed? As I think I said on another post, my Fallen Angel is currently on a LIV body, which was the only one I could find that is pale enough. But she does look kind of stumpy, its not ideal. What I really need to do is invest in an Obitsu body for her, but they’re expensive to source in the UK and I never seem to get round to it

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My First Fashionista – Raquelle « barbiebeauties - April 29, 2012

    […] dolls, and I may go this route as well – I am particularly keen to rebody my poor old frozen Stardoll. However, I will have to make sure that the Fashionista I choose for the rebodying isn`t Raquelle, […]

  2. The Fashionista Treatment « barbiebeauties - October 16, 2012

    […] limited range of body colours available. For instance, I am desperate to rebody my Stardoll Fallen Angel (who is currently on a Liv body, which is better but not quite gangly enough to properly fill the […]

  3. Adventures in Rebodying Six – Stardolls | barbiebeauties - February 24, 2014

    […] course, my main reason for hesitating over both these dolls was the bad experience I had with Fallen Angel. I adore Fallen Angel, but before I bought her, I was not aware of the mechanics of Stardoll […]

  4. Adventures in Rebodying 9 – Fallen Angel Stardoll | barbiebeauties - January 31, 2015

    […] I’ve had quite a good year, rebodying-wise. The relative shortage of desirable new Barbies, plus the knock-down prices of end-of-line Fashionistas in the shops, has meant that I have been able to concentrate on getting new bodies for my collection. However, there has been one doll body that has always eluded me – the first-wave, ultra-pale Stardoll Fallen Angel. […]

Leave a Reply

