Doll Challenge – Happy Hinamatsuri!

3 Mar

Given my interests maybe its not surprising that I`m a bit of a Japanophile on the sly. When I found out about Girl`s Day (also known as Hinamatsuri, Peach Blossom Festival, or – get this – Doll Festival) I immediately wanted to do a post about it.

At first, I was tempted to try and make or purchase a Hina, which are the dolls displayed in Japan on 3rd March to celebrate and encourage the growth and happiness of the young girls in the family. However, I soon gave up on this idea. Although they are quite lovely, Hina are not my usual kind of dolls, being sort of shaped like pyramids. Secondly, they obviously carry cultural and spiritual significance that I am largely ignorant about, so it seemed a bit insensitive. Thirdly, I don`t have a daughter.

After a little look around, I was struck by the fact that there don`t seem to be any Asian tween Barbies, so I decided to make one for my Hinamatsuri post. The base doll was a High School Musical Gabriella. I removed her wavy brown hair and gave her a new straight black hairstyle using a re-rooting tool I had bought (I will post about this another time, as I have another re-rooted doll to show you soon). She actually still has a few plugs left to do – its been a very time-consuming process and I kind of ended up wishing I had boil straightened and dyed her existing hair instead. I got the black Saran at http://www.retrodolls.co.uk/, who have a great range and offer a very helpful service, in case you are interested in giving it a go. I also removed all her face paint and did her a quick repaint which I think worked out OK. She might need some more work at some point in the future – she certainly needs a few more plugs – and when I get round to it, I will re-post. I didn`t have time to make her a new dress, so she`s wearing an adult Barbie dress in the closest thing to peach blossom that I could find.

Wishing your dolls and girls a happy Hinamatsuri!20120303-182624.jpg

20120303-182646.jpg

3 Responses to “Doll Challenge – Happy Hinamatsuri!”

  1. Maria March 3, 2012 at 11:26 pm #

    Re-rooting…only for the brave I feel! Wigged dolls are my fave…Im just too lazy!

    Did you ever read this book as a child

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Miss-Happiness-Flower-ebook/dp/B005GUYXX4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1330813434&sr=8-1

    I think its where my love of dolls and all things Japanese began!
    Maria
    x

  2. barbielea March 4, 2012 at 12:18 am #

    Some dolls it’s easy enough, some really not, I’ve discovered … Awww no I never read it, looks cute and very topical – I may give it a go 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Clearout – Sorting Out Skipper « barbiebeauties - June 8, 2012

    […] Sharpay, some sort of Hannah Montana doll (never looked into it as I couldn’t be bothered), repainted Japanese HSM Gabriella, better-condition Sharpay, another non-painted Gabriella, two rebodied Dancing Princesses (I also […]

Leave a Reply

