Off Topic Doll 13 – Totsy

9 Mar

20120309-205609.jpg

20120309-205620.jpg

This Totsy doll was another loft find. I`ve searched for information but I haven`t been able to find her, or indeed much about Totsy dolls in general (give me a shout if you read this and you know of any useful links). I suspect my Totsy may have been produced as some kind of theme doll. Her red scarf was tied in her hair when I found her and I think it might have been hers originally; this and the big gold earrings make me think maybe flamenco dancer or something like that. I thought she would suit a sort of 50s bad girl look, and as she`s thinner than the average fashion doll she was able to borrow some Basics cropped jeans (from model 5).

She`s not a particularly pretty doll. She`s got a chubby little face and her eyes are too close together. She is crudely painted. I cleaned her up with the intention of getting rid of her, but I discovered I liked her profile – there`s something so comic book about it. I think I`ll keep her

6 Responses to “Off Topic Doll 13 – Totsy”

  1. Bat6660 March 9, 2012 at 11:01 pm #

    That is one ugly doll, if I knew I had that in the attic, I may have had nightmares. I must have bought it at some stage for my daughter Charlotte but heaven knows why. Your taste in dolls is quite wide ranging.
    Sell, sell sell.

  2. barbielea March 9, 2012 at 11:35 pm #

    O come on, she’s not that bad. You had those bloody horrible Chucky dolls in the loft!

    • Bat6660 March 11, 2012 at 7:11 pm #

      Chucky looks stunning next to this doll lol x

  3. isabel June 28, 2014 at 10:43 pm #

    I think it’s Esmeralda, because is very similar, the earing, the scarf, the hair, and eyes are like this character.

  4. isabel June 28, 2014 at 11:19 pm #

    Yes, it’s Esmeralda, I have seen this doll into a box in Etsy now.

    • barbielea July 6, 2014 at 7:25 pm #

      Thanks so much Isabel! It makes perfect sense, now you say it …

Leave a Reply

