Clearout – Sorting Out Skipper

8 Jun

20120608-223936.jpg

The doll drawers are reaching melt-down point again. There are boxed dolls in with props, items meant for selling on in with items meant for doing up, sewing notions, bundles of hair and bits of interesting material squeezed into every available crack. Something must be done.

The problem is this. I know that when I have sorted it out, I still won’t have enough room for everything. If this was because I have such a lot of amazing stuff, maybe I could consider extra storage – but I’m not convinced. I think it’s because I need to perform a cull. I’ve got a lot of stuff that I like, but I have to start prioritising the stuff I really love. It’s not just about space, it’s about defining my collection and staying true to the enthusiasm I had when I first started out. My tween doll collection is a good example. Here they are, minus the Skippers (oh, and plus my sandwich toaster, sorry about that):

20120608-225444.jpg

Closest to furthest away, they are – tatty Sharpay, some sort of Hannah Montana doll (never looked into it as I couldn’t be bothered), repainted Japanese HSM Gabriella, better-condition Sharpay, another non-painted Gabriella, two rebodied Dancing Princesses (I also have an original-bodied brunette Dancing princess in the doll drawers somewhere) and Lola.

Right, I love Sharpay, but do I need two? Considering I don’t like the sculpt much, why do I have Gabriella and the nameless Hannah Montana? Dancing Princesses I can justify as they are dolls for doing up, but I just don’t know what to do about Lola. I love her face and her clothes but her body is completely stiff and her non-turning head irremovable from her neck, I presume because of the electrics needed to make her giggle when her hair is moved round. Three culled, then! I will think about Lola for a while longer, and my Japanese girl needs finishing before I make a decision about her.

On to the Skippers … When I bought the older Skipper (the one on the right in the top photo) there were loads of them popping up on eBay, just by cooincidence I think, and I got a good deal. However, I’m not a big fan of her sculpt and I hate her style of body – I think it looks clumsy and wrong, the shoulders too broad and the neck too short. I spent some time today cleaning her up and I think I’m going to sell her on now.

On the other hand, I realised when I found my first big-eyed Skipper that although I had always considered them to be too saccharin to be interesting, I actually loved her in the plastic. I think these dolls are going to end up being my guilty pleasure, as I was absolutely delighted with my brown-haired recent purchase, and immediately went looking for more. I think that’s the difference – I want my collection to be full of things that delight me, even if they do also make me feel slightly ridiculous …

20120608-233714.jpg

20120608-233732.jpg

20120608-233744.jpg

7 Responses to “Clearout – Sorting Out Skipper”

  1. kewpie83 June 9, 2012 at 4:10 am #

    The big, anime eye Skippers from the late 80’s/early 90’s are my favorites, too. They’re the majority of my Skipper collection. Actually, the Courtney you show in this post is one of my favorite ‘childhood’ dolls.

  2. barbielea June 9, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    I think I read on Katti’s dolls that she was a friend doll rather than a Skipper, isn’t there a redhead too? I just love her and I know I’m going to end up with more. I also sold a sparkle-haired swimsuit Skipper in May last year because at the time I just wasn’t into these dolls, and I regret it now – she had a great little face, I’d love to buy her back. And since writing this post, I am flagging in my resolve to sell older Skipper, as she turned out surprisingly cute on these pictures, arghh! I really shouldn’t have started my clear out attempt with the Tweens, it’s too hard!

    • kewpie83 June 9, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

      During the ‘big eyed’ years, Skipper’s friends were Courtney (your brunette) and Kevin. When they aged Skipper into Teen Skipper, Courtney suddenly turned into a redhead.

      Two really cute Courtneys are ‘Totally Hair Courtney’ and ‘Cheerleadering Courtney’. Oh, and you can’t go wrong with ‘Cool Tops’ Courtney and Skipper!

      Ah, sorry for the long comment– the Skipper collector in me took over there for a moment. :p

      • barbielea June 10, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

        Not a long comment at all – anyway, I’m the Queen of the novel-sized comment so I wouldn’t mind if it was! And all info is gratefully received too. I googled your recommendations and they have only added fuel to my big-eyed Skipper fascination … I particularly like Cool Tops, gorgeous eyes. Thanks very much 🙂

      • barbielea June 10, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

        Oh and ps. Do you know who the Courtney in the picture is?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Skipper 5 « barbiebeauties - July 28, 2012

    […] clothes. The third Skipper wasn’t a Skipper at all (thanks for the tip-off, Kewpie!) but a Courtney – I’m thinking maybe Pet Pals from 1991. I still feel justified in thinking of her as a […]

  2. Dolls’ Dolls (or, Lea 21 and a quarter) « barbiebeauties - November 16, 2012

    […] the big eyes and stiff limbs look suitably toylike. I did this little scene today featuring my Pet Pals Courtney and my first ever big-eyed Skipper (which may have been a cheerleading doll? Opinions […]

Leave a Reply

