Swimsuit Special – Holiday Girl Sindy

5 Jul

20120705-131524.jpg

Don’t get me wrong, getting a contemporary doll new in the box is lovely. But the very best dolls of all are the dolls who have been bought for a bargain price, dirty and dishevelled, then transformed by a little wash and a spruce up. Such was the case with this 1983 Holiday Girl Sindy. When I got her, her “lady Di” hairstyle looked thin and dirty and I thought I would have to re-root her. However, after a quick wash and brush through, she ended up with this cute little platinum pixie cut – not a thing wrong with it. Unusually (in my Sindy collection anyway – Frankensindy, shudder) she has all her fingers and toes. She also has a slightly smaller and sadder face than most Sindys, and (I think) slightly lighter blue eyes. Sadly, of her original outfit, only her swimsuit remains but one of these days I will complete it – her wrap, straw hat and cassette player will probably cost me more than she did, but they do crop up on eBay etc sometimes.

20120705-132648.jpg

9 Responses to “Swimsuit Special – Holiday Girl Sindy”

  1. discodiva79 July 5, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

    She’s a doll! I have to agree with the “very best dolls of all are the dolls who have been bought for a bargain price, dirty and dishevelled, then transformed by a little wash and a spruce up.” statement.

    • barbielea July 5, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

      Thanks Discodiva, she cleaned up well! I really love these early eighties Sindys – the Sunshine Sindy from this period has a similar face and I’m on the lookout for her too.

      • discodiva79 July 5, 2012 at 11:50 pm #

        You did a Great job! Good luck on your future thrift finds for Sunshine Sindy!!

  2. Alrunia July 6, 2012 at 8:40 am #

    She is BEAUTIFUL! That first picture is just amazing with the muted colours and her slightly sultry eyes and well everything. Love it.

    • barbielea July 6, 2012 at 9:57 am #

      Awww thanks Alrunia! Glad you liked my home-made seaside, we got a little bit of sun yesterday so I finally got a chance to do some outdoor photos …

  3. emma November 16, 2013 at 4:39 pm #

    Please can someone tell me how much these vintage sindys are to buy?

    • barbielea November 16, 2013 at 5:31 pm #

      Hi Emma. Depends a) how much if a hurry you are in, b) how much you are prepared to spend and c) what time period you are interested in. Most of my sulky Sindys are from the early to mid eighties and, through being patient and watching the eBay listings like a hawk I’ve managed to get some bargains, I’d say they cost between £5 and £15 each. A lot of mine did come with minor faults I’ve had to put right, though (like cut or pulled-out hair/ pen stains/ pushed-in eyelashes, I’ve written other posts about how to put these right if you are interested – if you don’t want to do renovations and would like a lovely near-mint model, be prepared to spend twice as much, maybe more). If you are going to be buying Sindys online, please note it’s a competitive market. I wrote a kind of guide to buying Sindys online on this post:

      https://barbiebeauties.wordpress.com/2012/06/16/clearout-frankensindy-and-the-zombie-doll-solution/

      Lastly, I mentioned time periods and asked how much you are prepared to pay above. Generally, the older the doll the more expensive with Sindy, but there are also some anomalies. I don’t pretend to understand all of these as I’m no Sindy expert but for example some of the most popular Sindys are the Trendy Girls from the early 70s (just beautiful! One day …) I’ve seen very good examples of these go for well over £100. So – sorry to have gone on at length but as you can see, it’s a bit like “how long is a piece of string”, there are lots of factors to consider. Best to get to know your market first – there’s some links to Sindy blogs and websites in my sidebar which would give you a heads-up on differences between dolls of different time periods, and then it’s just a matter of watching what goes on on eBay … Good luck with it 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sindy Special 14 – Sindy’s Dead Tired (and Dot Dead Gorgeous) … « barbiebeauties - October 19, 2012

    […] model in these photos is my gorgeous Holiday Girl, who is probably my favourite sulky Sindy (although I do have one more to feature, who is nearly as […]

  2. Sindy Special 20 – Funtime ’76 Makeover | barbiebeauties - July 13, 2013

    […] distinctive hair that is clearly different to the short styles worn by dolls in the 1980s, like my Holiday Girl Sindy. However, when I looked at her headmarking, I saw that she was stamped 033055X, which (on its own) […]

Leave a Reply

