Swimsuit Special – What’s Black and White and Dead All Over?

7 Jul

20120707-105106.jpg

Another appalling pun I’m afraid … anyhoo, I had never seen this Frankie for sale in the shops before I bought her. I had called into a Tesco on my way to a meeting for work, and I was on my way through the doll section (I would like you to believe that this was a happy accident, but it wasn’t). All at once, I spied a crowd … a whole display of these dolls. Usually, supermarkets only have one or two Monster Highs on the shelves at any one time, but there must have been a hundred of them. How could I say no?

Skull Shores Frankie has the nicest, sweetest Monster High face I have ever seen and I love her slick bob and her Bond Girl swimming costume. I have seen the multipack with the colour version of this doll, and I actually think the black and white version is better. Having said this, I think that the Claudine and Cleo from this set are some of the best dolls of their type yet produced. Great hair, great costumes, great painting. Monster High is just going from strength to strength. By the way, is it me, or are they making Cleo’s eyes narrower and more elongated on the more recent dolls, like some of the MH OOAK artists do?

I don’t know if I am finished with Skull Shores yet, although I doubt I will go as far as investing in the multipack as I just don’t fancy spending this much money to re-buy dolls I already have. I really should concentrate on a couple of waves, I suppose, as I am quite appalled by the “dog chasing chickens” approach I have taken with these dolls just recently. However, I don’t see how I am going to stop this, as all the dolls I have to have from the recently released lines are from different collections.

My only problem with Skull Shores is the lack of cohesion. Their colour schemes don’t seem to go very well together, which makes them hard to photograph as a group. I know that all the dolls have their own colour schemes and this is fair enough, although lines like the new Dot Dead Gorgeous are just easier to take pictures of as they look great as a group. There’s always black and white photos, I suppose.

20120707-112122.jpg

20120707-112129.jpg

2 Responses to “Swimsuit Special – What’s Black and White and Dead All Over?”

  1. tagidoll July 9, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    Probably my favourite doll in the SS line is Gill (if you can find him) followed then by his squeeze Lagoona. This beach line far surpasses their previous one – although I still giggle at Draculaura’s bottle of spf 500 sunscreen.

    • barbielea July 9, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

      Hi Tagi. You know, I’ve never considered Gil before but I’ve just looked at some pictures and he’s a sweetie, though I’m not keen on his helmet – great idea but I think it looks clumsy. I love SS Lagoona! And have been planning to buy for a long time. However, I have just managed to get hold of another Lagoona at a great price, so now SS Lagoona is a longer-term plan. And I do quite like Gloom Beach too (love the neon). I’m not collecting the older lines, generally, so I’ve never seen Draculaura’s sunscreen, nice touch! I do love her parasols, too, which remind me of Marceline from Adventure Time (I watch it with my son, honest!). Thanks for commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

