Kiyoni x 3

22 Jul

A little while ago, I did a post featuring one of my Kiyonis, from the Flavas line. I wasn’t best pleased with it – the dress was sort of OK, but the only shoes I could find for her were a pair of pink Sindy kitten-heels, and it just didn’t look right. Well, now I have managed to get hold of proper Flavas trainers for my Kiyonis, which are sometimes to be found on eBay listed as “Sindy” or “Cali Girl” shoes. I have cut my first Kiyoni’s hair, which had been kind of hacked at the back, and I have also painted all their eyes, as the vivid shades of green, hazel and grey used by the manufacturer really irritated me. I also managed to find some vintage Barbie clothes that suit their casual, hip-hop style. These clothes never look entirely right on normal Barbies anyway, whose feet are too tiny to wear baggy trousers and look good. Another interesting thing about the Flavas girls – they have shorter legs, which means that Barbie’s trousers are super-baggy on them. Wonder if this was by design?

20120722-155414.jpg

20120722-155422.jpg

20120722-155451.jpg

20120722-155506.jpg

20120722-155516.jpg

Kiyoni in green wears a Fashion Avenue tracksuit, Kiyoni in jeans wears a Barbie Jeans outfit, and Kiyoni in black and white wears a very lovely superstar-era jumpsuit.

2 Responses to “Kiyoni x 3”

  1. discodiva79 July 23, 2012 at 1:44 am #

    Interesting, I have never heard of these line of dolls. What year did they come out? Great job on the pics.

    • barbielea July 23, 2012 at 8:23 am #

      Thanks Discodiva. These dolls were released in 2003 by Mattel as competition for dolls like Bratz who had a more modern, urban style than Barbie – the line crashed and burned within a year, which is one of the reasons they’ve become rather collectable. Even though I like a lot of them, I’ll admit they are an acquired taste, and the styling and language used to sell them is maybe a bit cringe-inducing sometimes. I have five at the mo – I wrote some more stuff about Flavas history in a post about Bike Date Liam some time last year, if you are interested. Thanks for commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

