Monster High – Operetta

25 Jul

20120725-220005.jpg

Go on then – everybody else in the dollyverse seems to have had an Operetta crush at some point. She must be the most photographed MH out there. Actually, I think that I find it harder to make my mind up about dolls who are very popular, as I find myself wondering, “if nobody else liked her, would I?” Sometimes, this ends up a bit self-defeating, as it can work out as a kind of reverse prejudice. I’m still not sure if this is what happened with Operetta, or whether she just kind of grew on me over time.

Internet prices for MHs fluctuate from day to day, and with a bit of vigilance its sometimes possible to get pretty good bargains. When I saw Operetta on sale for thirteen quid and free postage (Amazon) I knew it wouldn’t last long and I decided to take the plunge, despite passing her up a number of times before. And guess what? You are all absolutely, undoubtedly right. Her painting is superb. Her headmold is just gorgeous (the little mole makes me think that her resemblance to Kim Cattrall isn’t accidental). Her outfit is clever, and beautifully detailed (musical shoes!!). Next time, I will trust your judgement and cut out the navel-contemplation about my motives, I promise. Weeeell, some of the navel contemplation, anyway … probably …

20120725-220238.jpg

20120725-220252.jpg

5 Responses to “Monster High – Operetta”

  1. Maria July 26, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

    Knew you would love her! She is without a doubt one of the nicest…(and cheapest!) dolls I own….

    • barbielea July 26, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

      Hi Maria! I love the Operettas in the new waves too – I’m wondering if it would be overkill to go for the Roller Derby Operetta (I think she’s the best RD) AND the Dot Dead Gorgeous Operetta (actually, I think this line is much better than Ghouls Rule or Sweet 1600 and I’d like all of them). I need to win the lottery! Nice to hear from you chuck 🙂

      • Maria July 27, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

        Same here! I keep wondering if I should have another Operaetta or I should wait for one of the new ones…I saw some pics (cant find the flippin link again tho) of one based on a venus flytrap and another on a steampunk robot…both VERY cool and desireable…

      • barbielea August 3, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

        I want them both, but Robecca (the robot) is the one I have been waiting for from this year’s releases …

  2. discodiva79 July 26, 2012 at 9:28 pm #

    She is a Gem! I really love her look! I agree with the overkill on the internet pricing on the MH.

Leave a Reply

