Skipper 5

28 Jul

20120728-211918.jpg

Its looking very like my interest in Skipper is going to continue. I got this 1987 sculpt Skipper through the post today and I’m so pleased with her. First, I gave her a little wash and a brush-up. Then I ended up making a dress for her – just a quick one, but nevertheless its a measure of how much I like her, as at the moment I seem to have ground to a halt with my projects and haven’t done any re-rooting or sewing at all for quite some time.

Then, I began to think about trying to identify her. I’ve never really looked up Skipper before and to be honest, it wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be, but its still a pretty new area for me and I’m sure that sooner or later I will find some reliable sources of information (suggestions welcome). Unfortunately, the search for knowledge led me to the hallowed halls of eBay and I bet you can guess what happened then … still, sometimes eBay is a surprisingly good source of dolly information for identification, I find. The pictures tend to be nice and clear and sellers often give as much information about the doll as they can, so I’ve learned a fair bit today.

Unfortunately, I still haven’t identified my girl in any definite way. I thought perhaps Babysitter Skipper from 1994 (who has three babies to deal with, poor lamb) but I’m still not sure. I also had a think about some of the other Skippers I have featured. The first Skipper, who I sold when I went back to collecting (what an idiot) was a Colour Splash Skipper. I’m going to have to buy another one of these at some point. My second Skipper was a broken-necked 1987 sculpt that we found in the loft. I think she might have been a Baton Twirling Skipper, because I found the hat and baton from this doll in the same bag, but no other Skipper clothes. The third Skipper wasn’t a Skipper at all (thanks for the tip-off, Kewpie!) but a Courtney – I’m thinking maybe Pet Pals from 1991. I still feel justified in thinking of her as a Skipper because, unlike HSM dolls or the younger Dancing Princesses, Courtney was often included in waves with Skipper so kind of came from the Barbieverse rather than a spin-off line, and she shared Skipper’s face sculpt. And the fourth Skipper, who I included in the post with Courtney – well, I was planning to get rid of her right up to the point where I had posted, and then I changed my mind (note to self – never blog about things you have not done yet, you are too indecisive and its embarrassing). And I still have no idea who she is – there’s so many dolls with this sculpt that its going to take me a long time, unless I just get lucky, and it might not even be possible at all. Still, its nice to be learning some new stuff. And in the meantime, I am now expecting the arrival of an absolutely stunning Courtney who I can definitely identify. More on this in due course!

20120728-220747.jpg

20120728-220818.jpg

6 Responses to “Skipper 5”

  1. kewpie83 July 31, 2012 at 4:59 am #

    I’m pretty sure you’re right about her being a Babysitting Skipper. My doll has the exact same eyes. The other purple eye’d dolls i own don’t have the triangle pattern in the eye paint. (My Babysitter Skipper is on flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/kewpie83/3217494680/in/set-72157612805377443)

    I was thinking of starting a reference site for Skipper, mainly because the ones from the 80’s and 90’s are hard to identify and they were always left out of the Skipper price guide! I’ll send you a link if I ever get one done. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I look forward to seeing your new Courtney!

    • barbielea July 31, 2012 at 8:21 am #

      Thanks again Kewpie – can’t believe the babies stick to her clothes, how cool is that? (my son is a bit bigger than her babies but still, I know how she feels some days) I think a database would be a great idea, I’ve found that identifying Barbies online is usually do-able with a bit of effort, but there seems to be much less information about Skipper out there … Oh, and the new Courtney (just hoping she gets here OK as she’s shipping from America) is one of your recommendations ๐Ÿ™‚ best wishes, thanks for commenting

      • kewpie83 July 31, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

        You’re welcome! Oh, also, your Courtney is a Pet Pals Courtney. She looks identical to mine, minus a bit of her outfit.

        I heard that the 90’s Skippers were supposed to be included in the most recent price guide, but had to be cut out due to page count. Couldn’t make it easy for us collectors, could they? ๐Ÿ™‚

      • barbielea July 31, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

        Well, that’s another one confirmed then, great. I have seen a book on Skipper for sale, done know if it’s any good or is it has any sort of ID guide … Though those sort of books can be pretty pricey. I will find out what it’s called

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Skipper 7 – Beach Blast « barbiebeauties - October 26, 2012

    […] trying to identify one of my Skippers, and its been driving me mad. As I mentioned in my post on Babysitting Skipper, identification of these dolls can be tricky. In the end, I gave up on the idea and in her place, I […]

  2. Easter Chick Party for the Skippers | barbiebeauties - April 1, 2013

    […] to right, we have Teen Skipper, Babysitting Skipper, Beach Blast Skipper, Barbie’s little brother Todd (sat at the front), and an unidentified […]

Leave a Reply

