Mother Knows Best

16 Sep

I’ve had this Mother Gothel since March – saw her, had to get her, loved her. I’ve not featured her so far because I had a pretty complicated diorama in mind, but I’ve kind of been forced into action. After a little visit to the Disney Store today, I’ve developed the hugest Disney Villains crush, and (if my worries about utter poverty are outweighed by my doll lust) I might end up featuring another Mother Gothel and her friends, so I had to get my playline version in first. If not … hey, at least I’ve still got one of the best playline Disney dolls yet produced.

20120916-220935.jpg

Its nice to see Disney raising the bar with their dollage, isn’t it? There have been far too many Disney dolls who look like poor-quality Barbie rip-offs with slightly malformed faces, but recently things seem to have changed. I don’t think its a flash in the pan, either; I love the new “Brave” dolls, although I have yet to see the film. Anyway, in addition to MG’s fabulous, true-to-character face which owes nothing whatsoever to Barbie (but, you could argue, a whole heap to Cher) she features articulated wrists and elbows, which is always a bonus. I’m also impressed that they haven’t try to make her curly hair more brushable and play-friendly, unlike the Tangled Ever After Bride Rapunzel doll who has her long golden locks again – somebody call the continuity guy.

So yes, I love the doll, but I’m conflicted about Mother Gothel’s role in Tangled. On the one hand I was absolutely fascinated and charmed by her characterisation as a kind of fusion of Malificent and Edina from Absolutely Fabulous (“plus I believe / you’re getting kinda chubby / I’m only saying it cos I wuv you”). However, I’m a bit disappointed that yet again, the baddie is a woman. Not just a bad woman, either – a bad Mother. I’m probably a bit over-sensitive about this, you know, what with being one and everything, but come on, Disney, the whole sinister patriarchal conspiracy thing is getting a bit old hat now …

20120916-225341.jpg

20120916-225401.jpg

2 Responses to “Mother Knows Best”

  1. discodiva79 September 17, 2012 at 12:57 am #

    I love how she is looking in the full length mirror. She has the biggest eyes & I just love her hair, I am so looking forward to this diorama! I have to tell you, I have been looking at the Merida doll & the one with the “smirk” is not easy to find-have you also found this to be true?

    • barbielea September 17, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

      I’ve not looked for this doll yet so I haven’t noticed. I will look into it!

Leave a Reply

