Disney Villains Designer Collection – Malificent

21 Sep

So, the deed is done – I ordered her online on Monday and she arrived today.

20120921-204334.jpg

I don’t really like writing blog posts that basically consist of “hey, look what I bought”, but at times like this it becomes pretty much unavoidable. She’s just beautifully done – the orange eyes, the purple and red darts in her velvet and pleather dress, and THAT hairstyle.

I haven’t been able to test her articulation because she’s pretty firmly tied into position in her box and I haven’t taken her out yet. Should I do it? As I’ve said before, I nearly always de-box dolls, but she really does look great in there and I don’t often display my dolls either (they usually get packed away in plastic in the doll drawers – writing a blog is really my method of displaying them).

I’m still undecided about whether to carry on buying from this line. On the one hand, its not all that long to Christmas and I really can’t afford it. Then again, they are beautifully made and relatively cheap when you take into account their limited run … damn you, Disney (and bless you, too) πŸ™‚

20120921-210536.jpg

20120921-210549.jpg

4 Responses to “Disney Villains Designer Collection – Malificent”

  1. tagidoll September 25, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

    Even *I* would be tempted to leave this one in her box. I’m tempted to buy for myself myself actually, for Maleficent and Cruella. She looks so stunning! I’m not so keen on their re-imagining of Ursula though, and I know I’m not the only one. Still. And have you seen the mugs they are putting out with this line? >_>

    • barbielea September 25, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

      Hi Tagi – yes, I’ve seen the mugs – and the lithographs – and the makeup collection – and the notebooks – then I stopped looking as otherwise I am going to end up bankrupt! I’ve not got any more of these – yet – but I am also sorely tempted by Cruella, love the Queen of Hearts, love the Evil Queen from Snow White (unbelieveable eyelashes). Not so sure about Ursula and not particularly impressed with how Mother Gothel compares to my lovely playline version …. thanks for commenting πŸ™‚

    • barbielea September 25, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

      PS. I know Ursula has upset a lot of people because she is now skinny, but actually I think the controversy might make her more collectable. I just don’t like her sculpt or her style, particularly … what put you off?

      • tagidoll September 26, 2012 at 1:32 am #

        Mainly it is the nerf of her figure, even though I know they did this so they didn’t have to come up with a brand new mold for one doll – Her face doesn’t work as well for a skinny doll either, makes her too comical in my opinion. There was a period in the movie where Ursula is skinny in her “Vanessa” form but she would not have been iconic enough I guess.

Leave a Reply

