Lea Rainbow Retrospective – Leas 11 – 20

10 Nov

20121110-155608.jpg

I’ve been threatening to take a group shot of my last ten Leas for far too long now. I originally planned to sew some rainbow dresses, but after a while, it became apparent that the idea of making ten dresses was just too much, given my time restrictions at the moment. I made myself get started a couple of times anyway, but never liked what I had done. So I started to think about ways I could do the post without having to sew a stitch, which became a bit of a challenge in itself. I managed it, but its been nearly as time-consuming as sewing, in the end. My ten Leas are as follows:

Red: Lea 17, Wave one Cali Girl Lea. I was a bit loathe to undress her, but I took the plunge in the end. She’s wearing her original necklace, some feather trimming and some jewel stickers.

Orange: Lea 20, Fashion Fever wave A. I cheated a little with this doll, as the ribbon I used to make her bra top and skirt is really tangerine (well, OK, pink) rather than orange. But the orange super-size pipe cleaner thing (made for use in crafts) helps.

Yellow: Lea 18, Michelle Kwan star skater, who I rebodied a couple of weeks ago. Because of her original body’s spinning action, I couldn’t undress her so I had to put her on the Fashionista. I am now so tempted to do this with all my Leas, as she looks so good. She wears yellow ribbon knickers and gold star stickers.

Green: Lea 14, my beautiful Dancing Princess Blair. This is still one of my favourite Leas (although I have just bought a similar Lea who is just as nice). She is wearing a particularly risqué sticker and hairband combination.

Blue: Lea 16, Girls Aloud Kim Marsh. She wears yet more stickers and ribbon.

Indigo: Lea 13, my 7 Days of Style Fashion Fever Lea. I made her outfit out of some Christmas Tree Ribbon which has special wire edging so you can twist it and it keeps its shape – great. I added some indigo sequins to her skirt as I wasn’t sure if the ribbon was really indigo enough (hard colour to find materials for!) and some jewel stickers as jewellery.

Violet: Lea 19, My Island Princess Maiden, wearing some nail jewels (just for a change) and some more feather trim.

Obviously, there are only seven colours in a rainbow, which left me with three further dolls to dress. So firstly I made a sunbeam outfit for Lea 15, my Amazing Nails Lea, because after all she was the first Lea ever and deserves something special. I made this with some gold streamers and lametta, and some stick-on jewels again (how useful these have been). Then I made two raincloud outfits for Leas 11 and 12, my Shakiras. I used some Christmas tree ribbon again for the bodice and knickers, and some bobbly trim I have picked up from somewhere for the skirts. I also added some raindrop beads that I will certainly be using again, as they are great. I think the Shakiras look particularly cute.

20121110-163510.jpg

20121110-163522.jpg

20121110-163531.jpg

20121110-163554.jpg

20121110-163603.jpg

20121110-163618.jpg

20121110-163640.jpg

20121110-163654.jpg

20121110-163703.jpg

Sigh. Well, at least that’s over – for a little while, anyway. I’m starting to think about what I could do for my next Lea retrospective, and I don’t have a clue yet. I do already have the next ten Leas to show you, and some extra after that. Its going to be great to be able to get back to featuring them again!

5 Responses to “Lea Rainbow Retrospective – Leas 11 – 20”

  1. bat6660 November 11, 2012 at 12:21 pm #

    Fantastic Blog, an enormous amount of effort has gone into this, you should be proud of yourself.

  2. Ian November 11, 2012 at 9:28 pm #

    Your entries are a pleasure to view, particularly to a face-sculpt addict like me. I love to see how incredibly different each doll can look despite having the same mold. And your work on their costumes is inspiring!

    • barbielea November 11, 2012 at 10:18 pm #

      Hello Ian, and thanks very much! As you can tell, I have a thing about sculpts myself, especially Lea/ Kayla (although I am also fond of Goddess, Steffie, Mbili, Diva – actually let’s just say I like them all). Thanks for your nice words about the shoot, I really wasn’t sure … It felt a bit like when I was a child and I used to make doll clothes out of sweet wrappers, but I think it turned out OK in the end 🙂 best wishes

  3. Jocelyn October 5, 2014 at 9:49 am #

    Love to see this great group of Leas together! I too have a ‘thing’ for Lea/goddess/kayla sculpts starting with Tris, Katniss, and secret spells Kayla and moving on from there! I now have quite a collection myself and when I see one I just can’t resist! My other passions are So in style dolls ( they have such great faces and inspire me to dress them in really cool clothes) and Stardoll heads ( all mine have now been rebodied!). Sorry to blather on but just to say, thanks for sharing your passion, it’s nice to find kindred spirits! Ps how/ where do you display your doll collection? I have some lovely floating shelves but they are soon going to be full 😉

    • barbielea December 1, 2014 at 10:06 pm #

      Hello Jocelyn! Sorry for the big delay in replying. It’s always nice to hear from another Lea collector. I love the SIS’s too, although they can be hard to find in my country and we haven’t had a new line for an age, so I’m wondering if they are ever going to appear again 😦 I don’t display my collection 😦 we don’t have a spare room I could use for a doll room, and I wouldn’t keep them in a communal room, I just have too many old for that. That’s really why I do a blog – so that I can show them off. Maybe one day I’ll get my doll room, who knows? :),

Leave a Reply

