Lea 21 – Princess Ballerina

12 Nov

So, as I just finished my group photos of my last ten Leas, I think its time to move on to another one. I was kind of spoiled for choice, but I decided to feature this beautiul contemporary ballerina while she is still contemporary.

20121112-220245.jpg

I first saw this doll on Dollsaga, before she was for sale in the UK. I fell in love with her and considered getting her imported immediately, then was glad I didn’t as these dolls then started to show up super-cheap in the discount stores and supermarkets over here. Fair-skinned Leas are relatively rare, and her face paint is simple but perfectly done. Despite her bargain price, she’s not just any old Lea – she’s an absolute cracker. I plan to get another one and give her a pivotal body, maybe restyle her hair.

Having said that, I do want to keep this one on her original body. Yes, the legs are completely inflexible and the arms are permanently cocked at a “ballet” angle, and I have never been a big fan of “always-dressed” dolls. But she can certainly strike a pose beautifully and she was great fun to photograph.

20121112-221510.jpg

20121112-221531.jpg

All in all, the appearance of this Lea on the doll market has cheered me up no end. I feel a bit sorry for dolls like poor old Lara, who started off playline and became pretty much collector-only. I worried that Lea was going the same way, overused at the collector end of the market (Lea and Goddess virtually dominate the DOTW lines between them, for instance) and never to be seen at the cheap-as-chips playline end. Perhaps I started thinking this because was a Summer-faced Fashionista and a Mackie-faced Fashionista, but no Lea-faced Fashionista, which was a bit of a disappointment for me. But this lovely Lea almost makes up for her exclusion from their ranks. Keep em coming, Mattel!

6 Responses to “Lea 21 – Princess Ballerina”

  1. Alrunia November 13, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    If only the body had legs that could do the splits, she’d make a splendid ballerina then without having to body swap her. I actually like dolls with perma tights, I think they’re kind of fun! (molded on bodices are less so though)

    • barbielea November 13, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

      Hi Alrunia. I know where you are coming from about the splits, what’s that about then? I think maybe its a manufacturing cost issue, as the budget hard-legged dolls always seem to have legs with limited movement.

      I have a great Lea to come who has perma-tights. I don’t mind them either, but dolls like the “Palm Beach” line with painted-on bikinis always make me sad, for some reason … having said this, I have warmed to this Lea’s jewelled midriff, the molding is quite detailed and pretty. Best wishes 🙂

  2. Elena May 24, 2014 at 9:37 am #

    Awww…I love this Ballerina!
    I am looking for a pivotal body to rebody her, but I still can’t find a pale body. Can you please give me a suggestion about it?
    Love from Italy, Elena

    • barbielea May 24, 2014 at 11:13 am #

      Hello Elena! A bit further on in the blog, you can see that I rebodied a version of this doll to a Raquelle Fashionista. I am not 100% happy with this rebody, as the colour match is not as perfect as I would like – not awful, just not perfect. I think (although I haven’t tried it myself) that a pale pivotal (like a Barbie Basics Collection 2.5 Louboutin Sculpt or a Klimt Barbie) would be a better match, but these can be hard to source for a reasonable price. Personally, I think that I am going to try this Ballerina (and the other, which was released the year after in 2014) on a Disney Store Snow White body. I have done a comparison and the colour match is perfect. However, its worth mentioning that Disney Store dolls have lovely pivotal arms with jointed wrists but they only have click joints in their legs. Some people do not like these bodies because they tend to sit a little splay-legged and they are quite soft and bendy too – but I really don’t mind them.

      I hope that this was useful. Good luck with it 🙂

      • Elena May 24, 2014 at 12:45 pm #

        Thank you sooo much! I will let you know the results..this will be my first ooak!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lea 21 Revisited – A Tale of Two Countries | barbiebeauties - August 17, 2013

    […] me this link. I was very interested to find out that there is a further version of my beautiful Lea 21, one of the nicest (and cheapest) Leas I own. My doll friend was also helped me to get the version […]

Leave a Reply

