So In Style Part 11 – Grace and Courtney

24 Nov

Its been a long time since I properly featured a So In Style purchase and as I think I said in my last post, I don’t know whether I’m going to be adding to this branch of my collection much in future. There are two back catalogue SIS dolls that I really, really want and of course I am always open to the idea of buying great new releases. However, I’ve not been overstruck with the last few waves, and I am starting to get bored of buying the same characters over and over. That said, I am so pleased to have this first-wave Grace and her mentee, Courtney. It was one of those happy coincidences, a bargain buy that was actually something I really wanted.

20121124-170356.jpg

This is great playline, with lots of little bits and pieces (flag, pom-poms, bag, big pointing sports hand etc). And I am rather pleased with Courtney, the little girl doll who is actually very cute. Since I started collecting Skippers, I have warmed to the idea of child dolls – the little ones from this line seem to be becoming particularly collectable and having seen her, I wouldn’t pass up the chance of getting some more, but they are rare in this country.

The box explains a lot of back story, apparently in the Barbieverse Grace was Barbie’s friend who moved to Chicago, which is interesting as it was who ended up being the centre stage doll as the line progressed. From the description, its apparent that Grace is designed to be a good role model for the children who play with her – a sporty science lover who is supportive of other girls. Creator Stacie McBride Irby has now gone on to develop another line of multicultural dolls with social consciences, the Prettie Girls – unfortunately, they are not sold in the UK, but might be worth looking at if you are in America.

20121124-170750.jpg

20121124-170805.jpg

20121124-170816.jpg

20121124-171740.jpg

20121124-171749.jpg

4 Responses to “So In Style Part 11 – Grace and Courtney”

  1. kewpie83 November 25, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

    I just gave my cousin the Trichelle/Jenessa pack pictured in this post for her birthday. She loved it. The line itself, especially the first wave, is a pretty one! Thanks for sharing your pictures!

    • barbielea November 25, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

      Lucky girl! She should hold onto them as I think they’ll be popular with collectors for years to come. Glad you like, thanks πŸ™‚

  2. Teresa November 25, 2012 at 6:00 pm #

    These dolls are so cute! I have grown to love the cheerleading dolls, I may have to find one for me someday! πŸ™‚

    • barbielea November 25, 2012 at 7:20 pm #

      Hi Teresa – its a great little set I would recommend it. Best wishes πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

