Moxie Teen – Red Carpet Tristen

2 Dec

20121202-213953.jpg

I’ve never been a big follower of the Cult of the Princess, but I think that these Red Carpet Moxies are so pretty and romantic-looking. Although this wave’s name obviously references Premieres and Gala events, the blurb explains that these are actually Prom-themed dolls. So they really aren’t princesses, but somehow I think they manage to beat all the magical royalty dolls at their own game.

Tristen is still my favourite Moxie. I just love her colouring, especially her purple eyes which are more muted and lilac in this wave. I have mixed feelings about her rooted hair (earlier Moxies were always wigged) but it does have its advantages, as wig slippage is often a risk with the earlier dolls. I’m not sure that the Red Carpet dolls were as carefully made as the earlier models – mine has a little factory mark on one side of her nose, and her limbs are stiffer and more awkward than previous waves – but she still didn’t deserve to be in the discount shop where I bought her.

I have a theory about Moxies, although its quite an egotistical, collectorish sort of theory. I believe that they were designed with half an eye on the adult market, as they have so many attributes that are generally considered appealing to collectors (big eyes that are resin rather than painted, wigged, highly poseable limbs, even the larger size). I know that there are Moxie Teenz collectors out there because I have seen the pictures on Flickr, but it hasn’t turned into the phenomenon that Monster High has for instance. I am uncharacteristically happy with the Princess look of these dolls, but maybe other collectors would be more attracted to a more edgy and high fashion kind of look? However they develop, I would really like to see Moxie Teenz get a more solid foothold in the dollyverse as I think that they have something special. Maybe next year, eh, girls?

20121202-221333.jpg

By the way, as you can see I’ve gone texture filter crazy tonight, having just downloaded a new editting package. I love these effects, which are just everywhere on Instagram, and its going to be a constant battle now not to use them all the time ๐Ÿ™‚

2 Responses to “Moxie Teen – Red Carpet Tristen”

  1. discodiva1979 December 3, 2012 at 5:48 am #

    She is so pretty-I had no idea they did a wave of rooted hair-that’s nice. I am on the hunt for Bijou & I have to admit I love the rooted lashes.

    • barbielea December 3, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

      Hi Discodiva. Yes, I would love a Bijou too, but they are super hard to find in the UK. Good luck with it ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

