Miss Kira’s Feeling for Snow

19 Jan

20130118-225838.jpg

As you can see, we’ve had a little fall of snow here in the UK, which reminded me of a doll I have had for a while now.

I’m not a fan of the Dolls of The World usually, but now and again I find a great one. This Kira-faced Arctic Barbie from 1996 reminds me of my DOTW Native American Midge. She has the same understated, racially ambiguous kind of face paint, which is never usually seen on dolls of this age. I also like her outfit, although the gold cord at the neck marks it as another piece of DOTW high camp. Barbie dolls in bulky clothes normally look so wrong to me, but Kira, with her fur-lined hood and her soft suede snow boots, manages to pull it off without looking like she has been wrapped in a face flannel.

20130118-231857.jpg

Leave a Reply

