Lea 22 – Basics Collection One Model 5

24 Jan

20130124-220845.jpg

I got this Lea-faced Basic in the January sales last year – I had been looking out for her since I returned to collecting. I already had most of the Basics I wanted apart from her by this point, and I haven’t bought any since. Collection one was great, and I would still buy some of the dolls I don’t have from this wave if I saw them for a reasonable price. I wasn’t as impressed with collection two, but to a lesser extent, same deal. I don’t have anything from collection three, for a couple of reasons. Firstly, they are very hard to find in the UK and I would probably have to resort to ordering from an American seller, which would mean import taxes would become an issue. Secondly, I really didn’t see anything from this wave that I couldn’t live without, as they didn’t do anything startlingly different with the sculpts and I didn’t like the coloured swimsuits (I think that metallic lamé would have worked much better). I would never say never, but I wouldn’t go out of my way, either.

A couple of years ago, I started looking at dolls online after about a decade’s break from collecting. Model 5 was a bit of a revelation for me, I couldn’t believe how un-barbie-like and downright stylish she was. I think that she has probably been one of the most popular Basics, as she has always attracted good money on the reseller market. However, in some ways I think that she has become a little too popular. Its hard to take a photo of her that doesn’t look like a million and one other photos on the internet, and amongst people who know about collectable Barbies I just think she’s become a bit of a cliché. I’m sure that in time, she’ll be a classic. But right now, I wanted to photograph her wearing something other than her LBD uniform.

Model 5 wears a second-hand red swing top, probably made for a non-barbie as it is too small for playline. She wears Fashionista Accessory Pack shoes and necklace, and carries a Basics Accessory Pack bag. Her palazzo pants and matching scarf came from an eBay seller who made them by hand, I think they have a lovely twenties kind of look to them.

20130124-225613.jpg

One Response to “Lea 22 – Basics Collection One Model 5”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lea 37 – The Look Lea | barbiebeauties - August 7, 2014

    […] former camp. Her face is interesting – she has the colouring and the makeup of the popular Basics Collection One Lea, but the little pursed mouth and the dark eyes with prominent brown highlights remind me more of […]

Leave a Reply

