Skipper Outfits

2 Feb

Today has been pretty demanding, dollywise. Mr Bat had had enough of the mountain of boxed dolls teetering on top of the doll drawers and demanded that I do something about it, the problem being that I had run out of space again so I had nowhere to put them. When I say “run out of space”, what I basically mean is, I have spent the last couple of months stuffing dolls, props and sundries in any spare corner I could find. So I sorted it all out, and miraculously there is space once again …

Anyhoo, while I was working I managed to get all my boxed Skipper clothes in one place. I haven’t intentionally set out to collect boxed Skipper clothes, it just seemed to happen. There are relatively few Skippers to be found on the second-hand market in the UK, so getting hold of dolls in their original outfits for a good price is quite hard. If there’s a Skipper I really want, I often turn to the American second-hand market, which means I have to keep my spending low to avoid import taxes. As a result, a lot of my Skippers arrive naked, or in Barbie clothes that are obviously too big. I want nice clothes to show them off in and the factory-made clothes for these dolls are just too cute. Its hard to identify a loose Skipper outfit from a photo on eBay, but if its in the box at least I know its going to fit. I plan to de-box all these fashions at some point but in the meantime, I thought I would post some pictures from the outfit packaging. These pictures are an education in Skipper fashions by themselves, and I have a better idea of what to look out for on eBay now. Hope you find them useful too.

20130202-222619.jpg

20130202-222636.jpg

20130202-222645.jpg

20130202-222657.jpg

20130202-222709.jpg

20130202-222718.jpg

20130202-222725.jpg

9 Responses to “Skipper Outfits”

  1. kewpie83 February 3, 2013 at 12:57 am #

    Great outfits! I’m sorely lacking in the outfit department, myself. The promo shots are fantastic on your outfits!

    • barbielea February 3, 2013 at 10:19 am #

      Hi πŸ™‚ I know! I think the Teen Style picture is the cutest, but I love the sets on the other two group shots.

      • kewpie83 February 6, 2013 at 11:48 pm #

        Don’t you wish you could just get your hands on some of those photo prototypes? I sure do!

  2. Teresa February 17, 2013 at 12:46 am #

    I love the Teen Style outfit, the green sweater with psychedelic pants. So cute! I think I might have to look for that one for my Skipper doll.

    • barbielea February 17, 2013 at 10:11 am #

      Hi Theresa, yes it’s eye-catching isn’t it? πŸ™‚ my favourite is the girly pink and gold Party N Play outfit I think

  3. Holly May 9, 2013 at 5:10 pm #

    I love how some of these styles wouldn’t look amiss on contemporary dolls–it’s crazy how fashions just cycle.

    • barbielea May 9, 2013 at 7:59 pm #

      Hi Holly πŸ™‚ You’re quite right, a lot of them could be contemporary, with a few minor changes. I’ve been thinking about this for a while now and doubtless I’ll do a post on it sometime … is it because the human fashion market produces very little that is completely new, and doll styles copy it? Or is it because doll manufacturers know that they can sell virtually the same thing to each new generation of child consumers? I can’t make up my mind

      • Holly May 9, 2013 at 8:54 pm #

        Good question. Probably a bit of both; the most basic clothing items can just be repeated with new “popular” fabric patterns.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Easter Chick Party for the Skippers | barbiebeauties - April 1, 2013

    […] will also notice that most of the Skippers are wearing the boxed outfits I wrote a post on a little while ago. I wasn’t sure whether or not I should open them, but as […]

Leave a Reply

