Farewell Bubble Fairy

13 Feb

20130214-162544.jpg

A little update on my selling escapades – washing and cleaning seemed to do the trick, and all the unwanted crew are off to pastures new. I do hope none of them end up as modern art or anything, it would be nice to think that they are going to go to children who will play with them and enjoy them.

I find that whenever I sell dolls on, my inner child starts complaining “hey, that’s MY doll!” and I nearly always regret it. My latest sales, for instance. They are generic Barbies and badly produced clones, worth virtually nothing, and I STILL hate letting them go. I love Bubble Fairies, I think they are my favourite kind of 1990s doll, so tonight as a little farewell I took some pictures of my own Bubble Fairy with her dollelganger.

20130213-224818.jpg

Don’t they look cute together? Anyway, speaking of dollelgangers, I’m planning a little series of posts on this theme at some point soon, so more dolly duplications to come …

My Bubble Fairy (in the necklace) wears an unbranded dress that I inherited from my sister. Soon-to-depart Bubble Fairy wears a 90s Gardening Barbie dress.

7 Responses to “Farewell Bubble Fairy”

  1. discodiva1979 February 14, 2013 at 12:52 am #

    Oh how sad! They do look cute together-I do hope they go to a good home.

    • barbielea February 15, 2013 at 12:42 am #

      The one on the right is staying with me. I love her to bits! The one on the left leaves tomorrow 😦

  2. discodiva1979 March 8, 2013 at 11:48 pm #

    I feel the same way you do—I have always regretted selling so I don’t. My mom is a doll lover too & her & I upcycle faeries-I have wanted to keep each one as they are OOAK. You should take a look at them & tell me what you think. here is the link
    https://www.etsy.com/shop/ElsasCrochetArtWork

    • barbielea March 9, 2013 at 9:33 am #

      Somebody must have a lot of patience to crochet like that – my family does stuff like that but I never could. The fairies look very pretty. I think upcycling dolls is a great thing to do, its so wasteful to throw them away when they could go to another child

      • discodiva1979 March 9, 2013 at 5:06 pm #

        Thank you so much! Her crochet is really an art form. As far as the dolls, we take used & unwanted ones we find at thrift stores & give them new life. That’s were I have obtained most of my collection. I absolutely LOVE your BLOG!

      • barbielea March 9, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

        Thanks very much 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pet Doctor – One Down, One to Go | barbiebeauties - June 29, 2013

    […] unidentified dolls, I spotted Pet Doctor on eBay. She was produced in 1996 (around the same time as Bubble Fairy, who I am also very fond of) and she came as part of a playset with a dog to Doctor. I never would […]

Leave a Reply

