Palm Beach Midge

15 Feb

20130215-180521.jpg

I bought Palm Beach Midge from new. This must have been in 2001 when this range was released, which surprises me now because I thought I had stopped collecting in the mid nineties – she must have particularly impressed me. Its easy to see why. Face-wise, I think she’s probably one of my favourite Midges ever, although I think she could have done without the stupid pinpoint freckles (again). In fact, having seen the other dolls from this range, it seems that most of them are beautifully painted with this sort of understated, naturally-made-up style. I am pretty indifferent to Palm Beach Barbie (GG face with bright pink lippy, yawn) but if you haven’t seen them I highly recommend looking up Palm Beach Christie, Theresa, Skipper and, of course, Lea.

You know I have to complain about the swimsuit, now, though, don’t you? “Always dressed” Barbies are popular with some Mothers, but of course collectors are going to hate them. Back when I bought her, I remember thinking how strange it was to give such a beautiful, subtly painted doll a ridiculous, garish, drawn-on swimsuit, but I liked her face so much I bought her anyway. I’ve thought about rebodying her, but I have mixed feelings about it now. I think I kind of enjoy hating the swimsuit so much, to be honest with you.

When I dressed her for these pictures, I wanted her to look how I always thought she should have looked, young, casual and simply dressed. You wouldn’t believe how hard it was to find something that suited her colouring and hid her ghastly swimsuit – in the end, she got a My Scene boy’s teeshirt, an unmarked Barbie Skirt (I suspect from a My Scene) and a Liv Jacket. I think she turned out very nicely.

20130215-181702.jpg

4 Responses to “Palm Beach Midge”

  1. Teresa February 17, 2013 at 12:38 am #

    I have the Teresa doll from this line. I have thought many times about dressing her but haven’t done so yet. I’m not sure why! I love the little chokers they put on them though. And I agree, Midge could have done without the freckles!

    • barbielea February 17, 2013 at 10:15 am #

      Hi Theresa πŸ™‚ Palm beach Theresa has a lovely face too. Yes, I actually quite like the chokers but I think they’d be better if you could take them off! Thanks for commenting

  2. amystika18n January 11, 2015 at 8:29 pm #

    If you ever decide you want the swimsuit off for good and you’re the crafty sort, you could use acetone nail polish remover to remove it and then rub off the film the acetone leaves behind with fine-grain sandpaper. I don’t have a Palm Beach doll, so I can’t personally testify to how well it works, but I’ve heard other collectors say the acetone and sandpaper method was successful for them.

    • barbielea January 17, 2015 at 5:49 pm #

      Really Amy? Well, thanks πŸ™‚ I think I’d probably just give her a Fashionista body if I was going to change it, but I’ve kind of got used to it now ….

Leave a Reply

