Shani

22 Feb

20130222-221757.jpg

Now and again, I come across a doll that I know I’m going to want to photograph and post about all the time, and my recently-acquired Shani definitely falls into this category. Her bronze and blue eyeshadow and her fountain of hair is just so glamorous, and she reminds me of my still-unidentified ballerina-legged Christie. I haven’t seen these dolls for sale very often in the UK, which is a shame as I would definitely like to buy more. For those of you that don’t know about this line, they were basically the So In Style crew for the 1990s, four black dolls with different skin shades and specially designed sculpts and clothes. I read an interesting article about this recently that you can find here.

I believe that my Shani is a Beach Dazzle doll from 1991, but if anybody reading this has a different opinion please do post a comment.

4 Responses to “Shani”

  1. betjemul February 24, 2013 at 10:38 am #

    Hi,
    Christie is 1993 My First Barbie.
    Regards, betjemul

    • barbielea February 24, 2013 at 10:47 am #

      Thank you very much Betjemul! I’ve been looking at the “My FIrsts” as I knew some of these had ballerina legs, but I must have missed this one. Best wishes 🙂

  2. Holly May 9, 2013 at 4:58 pm #

    I agree; the article you linked was a very good read; it made me think about some of the implications of the S.I.S. line that I hadn’t thought of before.

    • barbielea May 9, 2013 at 7:55 pm #

      Its actually a very good, thoughtful site – shame that the writer doesn’t seem to be posting any more

Leave a Reply

