So In Style Part 12 – Baby Phat Chandra and Kara

24 Feb

20130223-223924.jpg

In my last couple of SIS posts, I have mentioned that I have been thinking about giving up on this line. The last couple of waves have been OK but they haven’t made me feel like I REALLY NEED to have them, so I’ve purchased what I wanted and left the others. This year, however, somebody has played a blinder with the Baby Phat attired wave.

20130223-224458.jpg

For starters, we now have articulation. I’ve been wishing for this since the first SIS doll I bought and I’m so pleased that its come to pass – dolls this stylish should be able to pose in a stylish way. And its not just the Baby Phat girls either, there’s an articulated Skating Fun Kara and Kianna, and I’ve also seen an articulated Tennis Fun Grace and Courtney (sadly, only the big girls have the fashionista-esque range of movements though I think). I’ve also noticed that in another break from the norm, both these dolls have been painted with slightly open mouths. I think that this is a nice touch because before these waves I’ve been feeling like I’ve been buying the same SIS dolls over and over in new outfits, so its nice to see some facial differences being introduced.

Anyway, the Baby Phat range also (surprise!) features my favourite doll from this line, Chandra. She has an amazing look in her Chanel-style suit. This is really a dress made to look like a suit, but I suppose this will make it much easier for children to get off and on. She’s also the first Mattel-styled Chandra with curly hair, and I think it looks great. Strangely, this wave does not feature Trichelle, who is usually centre-stage, although I have seen her in the “Animal Print” wave that is also currently for sale (with straight hair, as opposed to her usual tight curls).

The Baby Phat wave is also for sale within the UK. Maybe they are having another go at trying to break the market over here with these dolls? Whatever the reason, I picked these two up for the same price as Fashionistas, although I have noticed that in the few days since my purchase prices have risen steeply. Although this is unfortunate, hey, at least you can get hold of them over here which is a step forward. I’ve imported most of my others, and its a pain waiting round worrying that they might get lost in the trans-contintental post or that maybe import laws have changed again and the bloody Customs and Excise is going to be awkward about letting them through … well, I’m hoping that the price rise means that people over here are buying, proving that there is a viable market over here for this range.

The greatest things about the Baby Phats, though, is that I want all of them. I like them as much as the first Pastry dolls – up until now, I would have said that Pastry wave one was the best SIS wave, but the articulated bodies used for the Baby Phats has swung it for them as far as I am concerned. I still have to purchase the other two – I’m kind of dreading missing them, the way I missed half of the first Rocha wave. But of course I’m not going to let that happen.

20130223-225928.jpg

20130223-225935.jpg

20130223-225943.jpg

20130223-225951.jpg

8 Responses to “So In Style Part 12 – Baby Phat Chandra and Kara”

  1. Chicovintage February 24, 2013 at 11:25 am #

    Hi There!
    I love your blog and your hilarious comments, and we also share our love to Kayla/Lea. I´m completely head over heels for the Baby Phat line, and I could not believe they are realeasing it on the UK, you are so lucky! Is it a full spread release (I mean, on a lot of different shops) or just in one (as an exclusive or something)?, I was resigned to order them on evil-bay (dot com), but maybe I was lucky enough to spot them on the dot co.uk…

    • barbielea February 24, 2013 at 11:11 pm #

      Hi! And thanks! I haven’t seen these dolls in the shops … yet. But then again. I don’t get out much these days … I am presuming that the online dealers who are selling them (I got mine from Buy4lessonline who trade through Amazon and eBay) are sourcing them from somewhere in the UK, as they aren’t charging import-comparable prices. With past waves this hasn’t happened, not that I am aware of anyway, apart from when John Lewis were selling the first wave Rochas for the Mattel approved prices. Anyway, i think that the low prices mean that they have been imported in bulk, suggesting (and this might just be wishful thinking, I suppose) that they are going to show up in the shops soon …

      By the way, I have some great Lea/ Kaylas to feature, just got a new one this weekend! Best wishes 🙂

  2. Ian February 24, 2013 at 3:36 pm #

    I love the SIS girls, but agree with you that the range was getting a bit “blah.” But this Chandra was the first time in a couple of years that I didn’t think twice before buying. She is gorgeous, I LOVE that delicious skin tone. I’d have been severely tempted even without the articulation, but the fact that she has it is an immense bonus.

    I’m tempted by the Animal Print Trichelle….

    Now if only I could find the Goddess-faced Basics 2.5 somewhere (she never seems to come up on Ebay) my life would be complete!

    • barbielea February 24, 2013 at 11:19 pm #

      Hi 🙂 I am so pleased to see Chandra back, I had a horrible feeling she was gone forever! I agree, her skin is a fabulous colour, I haven’t compared yet but I’m wondering if she might be a good match for Basics wave one model four who I would love to get an articulated body for without having to start using dyes.

      I love the animal print Trichelle too, but I am also tempted by the curly Kara!

      I know where you are coming from with the 2.5 Goddess. I had the choice of buying ONE from that wave and I went for the Louboutin face thinking I would pick up Goddess later. If never happened … 😦

      Best wishes thanks for commenting

  3. Holly May 9, 2013 at 4:46 pm #

    Chandra is the only doll from this wave that really speaks to me. It’s disappointing but understandable that her suit is really a dress–I was already imagining mixing and matching it with other tops!

    • barbielea May 9, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

      Me too, Holly 😦 It seems to be a very popular Mattel approach to clothing Barbie at the moment, I have an Instagram acquaintance who bought a fashion pack just for one teeshirt that was included, only to find out that it was attached to the cardigan and didn’t have a back in it (she was very cross!)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Adventures in Rebodying Six – Stardolls | barbiebeauties - February 24, 2014

    […] Chanel-inspired jacket (this is becoming a bit of a theme with Barbie spin-offs just recently, as Baby Phat Chandra wore a similar jacket last year). Pretty’s very girly look had to grow on me, and although […]

  2. Adventures in Rebodying 14 – AA Body Swaps  | barbiebeauties - April 11, 2015

    […] Just in case you are interested – the body donor in both cases was Baby Phat Kara. I already own a version of this doll so I had an opportunity to compare colours […]

Leave a Reply

