Ghouls Alive Frankie

1 Mar

For my birthday this year, I have received six dolls altogether, including (and this came as a complete surprise thankyou thankyou thankyou Mr Bat xxx) the ENTIRE Ghouls Alive wave. I should really photograph them altogether as I am woefully behind when it comes to posting about my MH acquisitions, but the fact is that they are too nice not to concentrate on individually.

20130301-175107.jpg

20130301-175123.jpg

Isn’t she great? I like MHs so much that it seems I have a new favourite every time I buy a doll, but overall from the core characters I think its Frankie’s looks and style I like the best. In fact, I am getting a little tired of the “dog chasing chickens” approach to collecting MHs and wondering if I should start concentrating on one or two core characters (Frankie and maybe one or two others) and the CAMs.

Anyway, as you can see, this Frankie lights up x-ray style when you press her tummy, and she also makes a rather satisfying “zzzzzzzst” noise. I love it, but I must say that I’m not altogether sure what to make of the sales slant behind the “classic with a twist” approach Mattel have taken with this wave. GAs come dressed almost identically to the first wave dolls but also incorporating special effects not seen in any other Monster High dolls, so they are surely going to appeal to a) children b) collectors who didn’t manage to get the first-wave dolls c) collectors who did get the first-wave dolls who are still interested in GAs because of their unique “abilities”. Well, I suppose that in some ways Mattel is doing late joiners to MH collecting (like me) a favour by giving them an opportunity to purchase a current-release doll that kind of looks first wave, but I can’t help but think of my boyfriend’s disgust when his beloved Batman Black and White statues were re-released on different coloured bases. If I had the first wave Frankie, I think I would have preferred Mattel to release them in new outfits and I might even be a bit annoyed that they hadn’t.

Even so, there is no question of the GAs ever being mistaken for the originals. In Frankie’s case (and I think probably the others, although I haven’t deboxed them) she is rather limited in her ability to pose because her head is fixed in place, presumably because of the electrics running through her neck and into her body. Her arms and legs move as usual but one other difference I have noticed is, the stitch marks on them are plain silver with no black outline, which actually looks quite nice.

I also love the box art in this line. The 50s b-movie style is wonderfully appropriate and the extra-big cartoon images are nicely drawn (better than usual, I think). They are obviously designed so that collectors will keep them in the box, and I was almost sorry to take them out myself (almost, but not really).

I was thinking about how many Frankies I have now and GA is my fifth, so here’s a litle shot of them altogether. Its hard to pick a favourite as they are all great dolls, but I think that my School’s Out Frankie (who was, incidentally, my first MH ever) is the prettiest, I never get tired of her.

20130301-185943.jpg

2 Responses to “Ghouls Alive Frankie”

  1. tagidoll March 2, 2013 at 12:58 pm #

    So the question is, if you were to focus on only a few characters (besides Frankie), who would they be?

  2. barbielea March 2, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

    Argh, you have honed in on my semi-intentional area of vagueness 🙂 Well, I don’t know, which is why I would probably never do it – probably Lagoona and maybe Cleo, although I find Cleo a bit samey wave to wave. The thing is that really I just buying what I like buying, and I don’t like setting arbitrary rules. For example, I don’t like the idea of feeling like I HAVE to buy Cleo if I like Clawdeen more in any given wave. It would make my collection a lot more organised and controllable though!

Leave a Reply

