Skipper 10, Makeover

8 Mar

Do you ever buy a doll without really knowing why? I had already decided that I didn’t really want another early eighties Skipper, but then I ended up bidding on one on eBay. Yes, she came with some original clothes but they were rather scruffy, just like her:

20130308-161612.jpg

Judging from the colour of her lips and her hair I think she might be a Great Shape Skipper from the early eighties, but I really don’t know much about Skippers from this time so I might well be wrong. As you can see from the picture, when she arrived she was dirty and her hair was very matted in the special way that only happens on dolls from this time. I gave her a wash and I also washed the best of the clothes that came with her (sadly, her white catsuit is laddered and I’m not sure if it can be saved). I spent quite some time brushing through her abundant strawberry blonde hair but it came out super frizzy and messy-looking. In the end I set it into ringlets and I think it looks much better:

20130308-162401.jpg

20130308-162457.jpg

6 Responses to “Skipper 10, Makeover”

  1. discodiva1979 March 8, 2013 at 7:18 pm #

    I know exactly what you mean-I found a nude SupermodelTuesday Taylor doll at a thrift store yesterday-had to get her-she was in Great shape too-still with her walking motion!
    I do believe you did get a Great Shape Skipper-you did wonders with her hair-she looks bran new! Good for you at the auction-its so nice to WIN!!!!!

    • barbielea March 8, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

      Thanks DD. I’ve just googled the Tuesday Taylor doll, she’s lovely

  2. kewpie83 March 9, 2013 at 5:10 pm #

    Wow, what a makeover! Love the hairstyling!

    • barbielea March 9, 2013 at 6:08 pm #

      Thanks Kewpie. Its fast becoming my motto – “when all else fails, do some ringlets” …

  3. Holly May 9, 2013 at 4:47 pm #

    You’ve done a great job on her hair; she looks really good.

    • barbielea May 9, 2013 at 7:54 pm #

      Thanks Holly. You never know with ringlets, I’ve messed up with them a few times. Thankfully, this one looked OK first time round 🙂

Leave a Reply

