Lea 24 – Amazing Nails Kayla

23 Mar

20130323-214944.jpg

I was completely delighted to find this boxed Amazing Nails Kayla for under a tenner on eBay. I’ve noticed that the lovely Amazing Nails Lea attracts a fair old bit of attention because she was the “first Lea ever”, but for some reason the same observation is rarely made about Kayla, who uses the same face sculpt.

AN Kayla is a strange-looking creature – pretty, but strange. Her light-coloured eyes contrast sharply with her dark skin and just to top it all off, she has long, straight electric auburn hair. Racially, she’s impossible to categorise. Her outfit is the same as the other AN dolls’, giving her a look that’s kind of Psychedelic Stripper. Her shoes are quite possibly the highest Barbie shoes I have ever seen, and its them I blame for her deformed ankles. I noticed the same bent out of shape lower legs on AN Lea and wrote it off as the result of inappropriate storage as she was in played-with condition, but now I’ve seen the same thing on new-out-of-the-box Kayla, I presume that its a fault on this line generally. Its her jacket that really interests me. The see-through jacket is kind of clumsy-looking, but there’s method behind its construction as its other function is to store the child-size false nails that come with this doll. There’s something quite gruesome about the idea of a Barbie adorned with false nails, in fact its nearly as sinister as the idea of children wearing them. Each to their own and everything and I hate to wax all moral, but … ewww.

20130323-222115.jpg

20130323-222312.jpg

20130323-222404.jpg

Anyhoo, I’m very pleased to now have both the Lea sculpts from this line, even though my AN Lea did not come with her original outfit. Here they are reunited:

20130323-222735.jpg

One last thing: as well as the great box pictures, one of the great things about buying boxed dolls (if you are a deboxer, that is) is that you never know what you are going to find inside. As well as the doll and about a ton of false nails, stampers and nail stickers, I found some instructions:

20130323-223020.jpg

And I also found a Fashion Avenue Flier for a swimsuit line called “Splash”:

20130323-223436.jpg

20130323-223452.jpg

The middle doll in the above group appears to be a Kira/ Miko. I don’t know loads about this sculpt, but I was surprised to see her on a modern-style body as I’ve never seen this before. Do we think she might be a prototype?

10 Responses to “Lea 24 – Amazing Nails Kayla”

  1. betjemul March 24, 2013 at 9:52 am #

    Hi there,
    I know of one Kira with a modern body. Check out Surf City Kira. (Don’t know if she is the one on the box though,)
    Loving the blog!
    Kind regards, betjemul

    • barbielea March 24, 2013 at 12:23 pm #

      Hi betjemul ๐Ÿ™‚ I have just had a look at Surf City Kira, she is so cute! I would really like one. I don’t think she is the doll in the picture, as her lips are much paler. Maybe there are others knocking around, I will have a look on Flickr when I get a minute. Thanks for the encouragement, and for the info! Best wishes

  2. Holly May 9, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

    I was completely ignorant of the Amazing Nails line until this post, so at first I was a bit impressed with her see-through jacket–I thought it looked like a decent raincoat. To see the photos of how it’s supposed to be used was shocking! I just think it’s horribly unattractive and a little creepy–like this doll is walking around in the middle of the night de-nailing children.

    • barbielea May 9, 2013 at 7:47 pm #

      Hi Holly – haha, brilliant gruesome image! Mine was similar, the nail coats immediately made me think of hunters who hang animals tails (or shruken heads!) from their belts …

      • drakar1989 April 27, 2015 at 8:35 pm #

        I was ignorant of the splash collection, it’s great. I would like to know which doll is the redhaired one, in the image of fashion avenue, i’ve been looking for it but i don’t know who is she, it’s great

      • barbielea April 27, 2015 at 8:43 pm #

        Hello Drakar! I’m sorry, I’m not sure about that doll myself. At first I just presumed she was a Midge but I think she’s a red-headed Mackie … I’ll ask my doll friends, see if they know …

      • drakar1989 April 27, 2015 at 8:45 pm #

        Thank you so much, and sorry for my bad english

      • barbielea April 27, 2015 at 9:40 pm #

        Don’t worry about that! I’m sure that your English is perfect compared to my grasp of your language ๐Ÿ™‚ I asked about the doll. So far most people seem to think that she is a prototype – a doll that was only produced once, for taking pictures like these. Mattel used to do that quite a lot when they were producing adverts and catalogues …

      • drakar1989 April 28, 2015 at 3:41 pm #

        Ok, Thank you,

      • drakar1989 April 27, 2015 at 8:42 pm #

        Hi there
        i didn’t know the splash collection, it’s great. Somebody knows which doll is the redhaired one, of the splash image collection?, it’s great, i’m looking for it but i don’t find it.

        Kind regards

Leave a Reply

