Midge’s Freckles Revisited

24 Mar

As I think I might have mentioned before, I am currently experiencing some problems with my hands so at the moment, sewing and rerooting are completely out of the question. I kind of lumped painting in there too, but really this was just an excuse. Unlike forcing a needle through fabric or vinyl, painting doesn’t require much hand strength. Actually, I have been avoiding it because although I enjoy painting on dolls, its not an easy thing to do and I’ve still got a long way to go before I am half as good as I would like to be. However, I know I won’t get any better unless I practice. Sigh.

What kind of forced my hand (pardon the pun) this weekend was having to revisit my past failures. This came about because earlier this month I realised I hadn’t changed my blog layout since I first started, so I decided to have a look for some interesting widgets. I ended up installing “top clicks”, a widget that lists the most clicked-on images stored in your gallery over the last week or so. I like this idea, its nice to know what people are particularly interested in. For the last few days, it seems that my very top click has been a picture of the first doll I ever painted on, Freckled Midge. I was a bit mortified by this, to be honest – what the hell were these people googling, “terribly painted dolls”? Midge was an unrealistically ambitious project for a newbie and in my opinion (now, anyway) probably better not posted about. I hadn’t diluted the paint enough, so it was applied much too thickly, and the brush I was using at the time was much too thick. I had been promising myself I would try, try again with this doll and I had never got round to it, but seeing her again in all her terrible glory made me realise it was time to get on with it.

20130324-214302.jpg

This time round, I did a complete from-scratch repaint instead of an overpaint and I had another go at the freckles. I think she needs a little bit more work but I’m quite pleased with her so far. I’ve discovered that when it comes to freckles, a little goes a long way – what looks subtle while you are painting often looks completely over-the-top when you stand back and look at it later. Maybe her forehead is still a little overdone?

Anyway, I used my new spray sealant this time and sealed as I went along which worked out much better as it doesn’t smudge like paint-on sealant. Its meant to be matte but looks a little shiny, I’m hoping it gets more matte as it dries out.

4 Responses to “Midge’s Freckles Revisited”

  1. discodiva1979 March 25, 2013 at 4:49 am #

    I am very proud of you with your attitude of moving forward with your project. Freckles must be a tedious thing to paint-good for you Do you plan on posting a before & after picture side by side? BTW I love Midge

    • barbielea March 25, 2013 at 9:33 am #

      Hi DD lol, don’t know if I dare post pics of how she used to be! I will if I can finish her off really well. Thanks 🙂

  2. museconfuse March 26, 2013 at 11:59 pm #

    Oh wow! You actually paint then too! That’s really cool. I definitely couldn’t do that, I have such bad art skills. I would make her look like a ghoul! Anyhow, you do have a pretty interesting blog here. I do like the Blythe dolls, their oversized heads and big eyes are so darn cute. They remind me of anime characters and I love my anime!

    • barbielea March 27, 2013 at 6:17 pm #

      Thanks Museconfuse … I try, but I’m not great or anything. This particular doll is giving me a proper pain in the arse, if you’ll pardon me saying so, as she now needs redoing AGAIN (long story). If you like anime, there are some great dolls out there you might like – I think that Licca and Takara Jenny are very anime. Thanks for commenting, best wishes 🙂

Leave a Reply

