Kurhn 1 – Lucky Bunny

11 Apr

20130411-220337.jpg

A little while ago, I saw a Kurhn doll review by Kewpiedoll83 (thankyou Kewpie) and I immediately wanted one. Hell, I immediately wanted them all. I had actually seen a Kurhn before – just the one – for sale second-hand on eBay, and I remember that I loved the sculpt and placed a bid (I didn’t win) but somehow I must have forgotten to investigate her. Until I saw the above post, I had no idea that Kurhn is a contemporary doll manufactured in China and available for sale at prices that allow me to buy them direct from their country of origin without incurring import taxes. Good deal. Very, very good deal indeed.

Kurhn has so many of my favourite dolly attributes:

* She is very pale skinned – I don’t think photos do her justice in this respect, its quite striking in the plastic.
* She has a closed-mouth, unsmiling sculpt (which I generally prefer) and HUGE eyes.
* She is Chinese, and usually dark-haired – I love Eastern Asian dolls
* She is a tween doll – Kurhn is meant to be 13, and she’s Skipper-sized (although she is scaled differently to Skipper, with a larger head)
* She has a great Kawaii style. Its very girly, with plenty of big hair bows, Lolita dresses, and as you can see, cute animal inspired themes.
* Some Kurhns have articulated knees and elbows.
* Her painting and production quality are really good. The Kurhn clothes I have seen so far are also perfect quality, although I have some collectors say differently about Kurhns they have purchased.

Lucky Bunny arrived today and she’s actually my second Kurhn. I have a special post in mind for the first Kurhn I got, so doubtless she will pop up later. As you can see from the photos, I got three different outfits, two pairs of shoes and a tea set with her, although unfortunately she didn’t come with the great earmuffs from the box photos:

20130411-223259.jpg

Another great thing about Kurhn (as if we needed any more) is the fact that with a bit of care, she can actually be made to stand on her own, which is great for taking photographs:

20130411-223755.jpg

20130411-224234.jpg

20130411-224250.jpg

20130411-224305.jpg

20130411-224313.jpg

12 Responses to “Kurhn 1 – Lucky Bunny”

  1. Teresa April 12, 2013 at 3:59 am #

    oh my gosh, she is beautiful! Congrats!

    Now I want one πŸ™‚

    • barbielea April 12, 2013 at 8:53 am #

      Thanks Theresa. Lol, and the chain continues …

  2. museconfuse April 12, 2013 at 11:10 am #

    Really cute doll! Lol, i don’t know, now you are bringing out the doll side of me.

    • barbielea April 12, 2013 at 11:37 am #

      Stick with me kid, you’ll be spending every penny on dolls before you know it πŸ˜‰

  3. Maria April 12, 2013 at 11:49 am #

    wow shes gorgeous!! now another ‘I want’!!! Ps the ear muffs are easy to buy or make…bjd lati yellow or pukifee size will fit barbie and the accessories are quite cheap!

    • Heather April 12, 2013 at 2:04 pm #

      How do I order one? πŸ˜„ She’s really adorable, congrats!
      http://travelingtwig.blogspot.com

      • barbielea April 12, 2013 at 9:17 pm #

        Hi Heather πŸ™‚ for some reason your comments got trapped by my spam catcher ?? not sure why, maybe because you included your link? – anyway, I’ve just retrieved them and it should be OK from now on … I got this lass from an eBay seller in Shanghai called bettytantai, she’s got a whole load listed at the moment. Her postage is a bit steep (although I suppose this depends where you are in the world) – I have also bought from an eBay seller called flyingannalee, who was recommended to me by Kewpiedoll. Thanks!

    • barbielea April 12, 2013 at 9:20 pm #

      Hi Maria, how’s it going? Haha well the great thing about Kurhns compared to your usual kind of dolls is that she’s not very expensive (although there are collector level dolls that cost more than these playline ones) – go on, do it! They’re just as nice in the plastic as they are in pictures.

      I have recently been buying Lati/ Pukifee wigs for my MH CAMs, I must look for some stuff for Kurhn too – she actually does have a similar size head. Thanks, and best wishes πŸ™‚

  4. kewpie83 May 1, 2013 at 4:12 am #

    I mean to comment on this ages ago– she’s adorable!!! I love her blue eyes! I’m curious to see your future Kuhrn post!

    • kewpie83 May 1, 2013 at 4:14 am #

      *meant*, typo. Sory!

      • kewpie83 May 1, 2013 at 4:14 am #

        *sorry* I’m giving up on typing for the day! *sigh*

    • barbielea May 1, 2013 at 12:00 pm #

      Lol! Never mind πŸ™‚ re: future posts, Flyingannalee seems to have cut down recently and is not making any new listings 😦 she still has some up as “buy it nows” but I’m a bit worried that a great Kurhn supply might have dried up just as I was getting started. There are other suppliers out there but she was definitely the cheapest. If you hear of any other good international routes of Kurhn supply, I’d be very grateful if you’d let me know. Thanks for commenting πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

