Lea 25 – Really Rosy Kayla

12 Apr

Some time ago, I acquired another gorgeous playline Lea: Really Rosy Lea.

20130412-220144.jpg

Er, actually, no I didn’t. When she arrived, a quick google search and comparison showed that she is a Kayla, not the Lea she was sold to me as.

This 2002 line, like Amazing Nails, featured a Kayla and a Lea who shared a face sculpt. Its really rather confusing. At least AN Lea and Kayla were very different dolls. RR Lea and Kayla are not so clearly differentiated; Lea is darker haired and darker eyed with darker lipstick, but her features and hair are rather similar to Kayla’s. And also, take a look at this box photo (I got the box with the doll, but she had been removed at some point):

20130412-221442.jpg

You’ll notice that Lea, on the left, is wearing a shirt with a purple collar and Kayla, on the right, wears a shirt with a white collar. However, my Kayla arrrived with a purple collar, making me wonder if her outfit had been switched with that of an RR Lea. Then I did a little search of Flickr and I came up with pictures of both dolls wearing both shirts, and I also found some pictures of Kayla in NRFB condition … wearing the purple-collared shirt. So I’m currently working on the presumption that Mattel just randomly packaged dolls in purple or white collared shirts, but if anybody knows anything else about this, please do post me a comment … Its really getting on my nerves now

20130412-222458.jpg

20130412-222513.jpg

6 Responses to “Lea 25 – Really Rosy Kayla”

  1. Chicovintage April 14, 2013 at 6:14 pm #

    Wow! You really share my dolly tastes! Every doll you have reviewed is a doll I already love. This one is specially gorgeous, when I received mine (on loose) I thought the former owner had been playing hairdresser…but no,I finally realized that funny hairdo was production made. It´s quite interesting the mistery of the dresses colour… It´s the first case I´ve ever heard of…keep on investigate. I love your blog, and thanks so much for telling the amazing price of the sis babyphat… I finally got mine!

    • barbielea April 14, 2013 at 6:47 pm #

      Hi Chico – yes, I’ve noticed that as well, it does look a bit like she’s had a chunk taken out of her hair at the front … by the way, did your RR Kayla come with clothes, and if so what colour top did she have?? The other idea I had was that maybe whoever took the box photos put them in the wrong clothes before the shoot, but that just doesn’t seem right somehow, and as I said there are photos on Flickr of both dolls in both tops … ooo I don’t know :>/ Anyway, thanks for reading and I’m glad to hear you got your Baby Phat dolls at a good price! Best wishes 🙂

      • Chicovintage April 14, 2013 at 9:28 pm #

        I can not solve the mistery, because my doll came nude… and, as you already know, on flickr everybody swaps clothes, so that´s not a faithful clue. I happen to find the one with the pink collar (barbie´s) but it´s all right for me! (I´m such a bungler!)

      • barbielea April 14, 2013 at 10:08 pm #

        Lol! Nothing wrong with that, I’m sure she looks lovely! And TBH if Mattel have mixed up Lea and Kayla’s clothes anyway, I don’t see why you shouldn’t bring Barbie into it too if you want to

  2. Teresa B. April 16, 2013 at 5:29 pm #

    My RR Kayla came with the purple and the back of my box shows her wearing the white. The back of my box does not feature the Lea but shows Christie wearing the blue. I actually LOVE the white and wish that they did not change this mid production! Here is my post about my Really Rosy Kayla doll with back of box pictures!

    http://mybarbieblog.blogspot.com/2012/08/cute-faux-fur-tops.html

    • barbielea April 16, 2013 at 7:17 pm #

      Hi Theresa 🙂 thanks so much for that! I didn’t even know there was a Christie in this collection. Yes, I would have preferred the white top too, I will have to keep an eye out on eBay.

      So, a mid-production change, you reckon? Interesting, I wonder what made them want to do that??

      Best wishes

Leave a Reply

