Monster High – Dance Class Howleen

20 Apr

The doll market is currently swamped with new and newish Monster High dolls. Its been like this for about a year now. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t blame Mattel in the slightest – there’s huge demand for these dolls from collectors and children alike and they are just doing what any sensible company would do. Anyway, I think that even in the face of plenty of stiff competition from dolls in her own line, the second Howleen, from the cheap-as-chips “Dance Class” wave, stands out.

20130420-165728.jpg

She has a GREAT colour scheme. If you look at popular collectable/ playline dolls it becomes obvious that pink hair is often a winner, and her curly bunches are adorable. Her outfit is nicely detailed, with a perfectly scaled pawprint dance-step theme, a boom-box bag and high-heeled trainers with clawmark stripes. Although the box blurb explains that she is on her way to a hip-hop class, her look is rather pop-punk, with a safety-pin belt and earring:

20130420-170527.jpg

I suspect she’s done very well in terms of sales, as shortly after her release she wasn’t to be found anywhere in the shops (in the UK anyway) and online resellers were listing her for astronomical prices. I am very much hoping that this means there will be more Howleen to come – I think she’s a really versatile character with a lot of potential.

20130420-171401.jpg

20130420-171204.jpg

20130420-171447.jpg

20130420-171457.jpg

4 Responses to “Monster High – Dance Class Howleen”

  1. discodiva1979 April 21, 2013 at 10:49 pm #

    I do like her look alot! Where did you find her? I don’t mean to be rude but was she alot of $$$$$?

    • barbielea April 21, 2013 at 11:17 pm #

      Hi DD – no that’s not rude 🙂 I was lucky enough to find her at Tesco, they had quite a few at my local store. She cost me £13 which was quite reasonable considering that the resellers were advertising her online for £25 – £35 at the time, which I refused to pay. I don’t know if she’s gone down in price online since, I haven’t checked for a bit, but there does seem to have been a second wave of MH stock hitting shops near me, so if you’re interested I’d try instore first. Best wishes

  2. kewpie83 May 4, 2013 at 7:18 pm #

    What great photos! I agree– this is a super cute Howleen, though I still prefer the orange hair from her first release.

    • barbielea May 4, 2013 at 9:59 pm #

      Hi Kewpie 🙂 I missed out on the first one, maybe I’ll get to pick her up in ten years’ time when the current generation of children start emptying their attics (I can dream, anyway)

      I was actually super disappointed when I realised the next Clawdeen (13 wishes) is also pink-haired … I would have loved them to release orange again, or a different colour entirely (neon yellow would look great, or electric blue)

Leave a Reply

