Disney Designer Villains – The Evil Queen

27 Apr

So, I featured Malificent, and I featured Cruella, and now I’ve forgotten which of my remaining Disney Villains I received on which occasion … I think I received Evil Queen for my birthday, but I’m not sure. I’ve been remiss in photographing and posting about these dolls, mostly because when I start messing with them I become terribly tempted to take them out of the box. Yes, I know I have posted plenty about my de-boxing angst but just bear with me.

20130427-182049.jpg

I had to take her “glass coffin” cover off so that I could photograph her, and there was an awful, forbidding “crack” – for a moment I thought that I must have broken the bloody thing. Once it was off I found that her head is permanently pinned back by the hair, so that she is posed giving that down-the-bridge-of-the-nose glare that she is famous for. As you can see, her arms are similarly straight-jacketed down by her sides. I tried to get a peek at her shoes and found that her skirts are sewn onto the box to create dramatic waves. There’s literally no way of moving her at all without snapping or cutting through some of her restraints, and I’m starting to get quite frustrated with it. The only thing that is stopping me is this – once its done, its done. From what I can tell, there is no stand for this doll. This means that if I was to remove her, there would be no way of making her look OK in her box again and I certainly don’t think tying her back in would be an easy job (she’s attached to a plastic form, which is glued to the back of the box). What to do, what to do …

Anyway, Evil Queen herself is pretty good. Her clothes are GREAT – most of these Designer Villains seem to wear quality togs made from beautiful materials. The main thing that has failed to impress me (apart from my de-boxing issues) is her terrible tagline – “More Evil than Queen” – what does that even mean? Freddy Mercury was famous for many things, but surely villainy wasn’t one of them … Lastly, it just struck me today how much she actually resembles a completely different kind of queen – don’t you think she looks a bit like a dragged-up Rupert Everett?

20130427-184518.jpg

20130427-184800.jpg

20130427-184809.jpg

4 Responses to “Disney Designer Villains – The Evil Queen”

  1. discodiva1979 April 28, 2013 at 12:00 am #

    I love her long eyelashes! Her eyebrows are to die for & her makeup is exquisite!

    • barbielea April 28, 2013 at 10:58 am #

      Hi 🙂 Yes it was the eyelashes that sold me on this doll, really – they’re amazing, aren’t they? There’s a Disney Designer Princess Rapunzel who has these kind of eyelashes too, she’s very beautiful, look her up if you’ve not seen her

  2. Maria April 30, 2013 at 8:42 pm #

    My daughters boyfriend bought me the Mother Gothel one of these for my birthday….do you think he is trying to tell me something? 😉 they got me the villanesses hand bag for Christmas!!!! Eek!

    • barbielea May 1, 2013 at 8:56 am #

      Lol!! Well, she’s gorgeous (I think she looks like Cher) so if they are, it isn’t necessarily a bad thing!

      I LOVE all the merchandise that was sold along with these dolls, the illustration is beautiful – the handbags, pens, cups, pencils etc … Unfortunately I used up all my immediate family present privileges with dolls, or I would definitely have asked for some. I love the makeup! Best wishes 🙂

Leave a Reply

