Bijou in the Bluebells (and on the Beach)

8 May

I found this Moxie Teenz Bijou (the hardest Moxie Teen to find in the UK) in a discount shop in Wales, and I snaffled her up. I never thought I would get hold of this doll, so I’m absolutely delighted!

20130508-110149.jpg

She has a great hippie/ boho look, and as usual with Moxie Teenz (hate that z, by the way) her clothes and accessories are very good quality and highly detailed. I particularly like her beautifully scaled cardigan and lacy shirt. Even the puppy she comes with is pretty good.

20130508-110853.jpg

20130508-110922.jpg

I have two small criticisms of this great doll. Firstly, her hoop earrings are not properly attached, they just rest on hooks attached to the studs. It seems obvious that any child is going to lose them almost immediately (in fact, ahem, never mind children, I lost one on the beach yesterday). Secondly, its great that she is a wigged doll as this makes her far more versatile, but the wig cap is very shallow and falls off her head very easily. Its particularly noticeable with this doll because the added weight of the picture hat attached to the wig makes it even more prone to slipping backwards.

It seemed to me that her outfit was particularly well suited to the beach, but I was a little bit nervous because I don’t generally take photos in public places. Yes, the beach at the bottom of our holiday home garden is pretty much deserted, but it was sod’s law that somebody was going to wander past just as I was snapping away. Sure enough, this happened. I wasn’t sure of the correct etiquette in this situation, so I just pretended I hadn’t noticed them and got on with what I was doing. I told my nephew (who is holidaying with us) about this later and he said that I should have looked steadily back at them, then, without breaking eye contact, moved the doll’s head round to watch them walk past too …

20130508-112255.jpg

20130508-112322.jpg

20130508-113459.jpg

15 Responses to “Bijou in the Bluebells (and on the Beach)”

  1. Ian May 8, 2013 at 2:11 pm #

    Wow – we’re in Wales, too, and just got back from a blow on the beach! I’ve brought a couple of my Goddesses as well as their close cousins the Kayla-Leas, but I’m not nearly brave enough to photograph them in public, though the scenery is amazing and would make a great backdrop. Wherever we go I keep my eyes peeled for shops that might have doll stuff for sale but locally I’ve been out of luck.

    Bijou is definitely the most attractive of the Moxie Teenz, I think. I only wish their clothes were Barbie size, because the detail in them is pretty amazing.

    • barbielea May 8, 2013 at 9:24 pm #

      Really?? Well, I hope the weather’s been as nice for you as its been for us – its been gorgeous most days where we are … I’m glad to hear its not just me travelling with dolls anyway!

  2. Ian May 8, 2013 at 2:12 pm #

    Oh, and I meant to say, your nephew’s idea was genius! Perhaps next time…

    • barbielea May 8, 2013 at 9:25 pm #

      Lol! Its a great idea, but I don’t think I’ve got the bottle …

  3. discodiva1979 May 8, 2013 at 7:55 pm #

    Great find! She is a rarity-I found a one at a local thrift for $1.00 Had to have her! I can see how easy it is to loose the earrings, makes no sense why the manufacturer would do that. Love your beach pics & your nephew is a genius!

    • barbielea May 8, 2013 at 9:27 pm #

      Wow, $1, that’s a great find! Thanks DD, glad you liked them

  4. Holly May 9, 2013 at 4:06 pm #

    I love, love, love your beach photos–they came out beautifully. I especially like the one with Bijou in profile; I keep scrolling back to look at it.

    I’m glad you got the courage to have a photo shoot in public; I’m sure next time you’ll feel more comfortable. Everyone’s got their hobbies, so don’t worry about what anyone’s thinking of you–instead, imagine what their passions might be–Pez collector, Coca-Cola collector, record collector… you never know! Love your nephew’s response, though; too funny!

    Bijou’s a beautiful doll–what a lovely find!

    • barbielea May 9, 2013 at 7:34 pm #

      Hi Holly 🙂 good point, well made! I’m glad you liked the pictures, best wishes

  5. Chicovintage May 9, 2013 at 5:02 pm #

    As always, I enjoyed your entry. Beautiful photos (and your nephew is a laugh!)I was lucky enough to find her on sale ..(here in Spain, where their distribution has been quite scarce it´s been a bit of a miracle). Could you believe I hesitated when buying her? I had not that doubts with Tristen (those violet eyes hypnotized me), but now I got the bug and I´m on the fence for some more… (what a pity, amazon.uk has really good prices on them, but the sellers won´t send to Spain…)

    • barbielea May 9, 2013 at 7:41 pm #

      Hi Chico 🙂 Yes, like you it was Tristen that originally attracted me to this line, she’s like a gorgeous gothic Liz Taylor … I meant to stop there and I’ve ended up with, um, not exactly sure how many, maybe seven or eight? I’m sorry you have such bad MT distribution in Spain, I will keep an eye out for any decent Europe-wide sellers for you … These dolls have been everywhere in the discount shops in the UK, but this is the first time I’ve seen Bijou for sale anywhere (apart from from resellers for ridiculous money, anyway) – so I’m very pleased with myself! Best wishes 🙂

      • Chicovintage May 10, 2013 at 10:48 pm #

        That would be so sweet of you! I´m getting a little bit obsessed with Gavin and Tristen “Prom Night” (can´t remember the name). Thanks so much

  6. Ian May 11, 2013 at 11:23 am #

    Me again! We visited Barmouth yesterday and I popped into the Factory shop. Sure enough, on the shelves in the tiny toy department were two Bijous. I was VERY tempted and lingered so long I eventually got embarrased and left without buying one (podgy, bearded bloke poring over dolls might look peculiar to others, I thought.) I’m both pleased with myself, because she is too large to fit in with anything else I own, and disappointed because when the Teenz first came out I seriously considered investing in the original Bijou and this edition in particular is special. Mind you, we’re here for another week, and there were two of them….

    • barbielea May 11, 2013 at 11:49 am #

      Hi Ian – now you mention it, I think I found mine in a Factory Shop. Well, I admire your restraint, although I can’t say I follow your example very often *sigh of disappointment with self*. I understand your mixed feelings about bigger dolls, I have them too. For some reason, I feel pretty OK about MTs (I think the pivotal, poseable bodies help as they don’t feel quite so clumsily oversized) but I have a couple of Genes and although I love them, I’ve found them pretty hard to bond with in some ways.

      Lol, regarding your “hovering around dolls in a shop” fears … honest, most people who see you will presume that you are buying presents for a small girl relative, and the more confused and indecisive you look, the more iron-clad your cover. Unless its another collector, and then they might realise what you’re up to but they won’t care anyway 🙂 Best wishes and enjoy the rest of your holiday

      • Andrea May 26, 2013 at 8:42 pm #

        Congrats on getting Bijou. Their distribution in continental Europe seems to be equally bad, as I never saw one in a store. I have Melrose though and I fell in love the second I saw her at the fleamarket. I was pretty lucky as she came complete and was only missing her ring. I hope I can get Tristen and Bijou as well.

        I do understand your shyness taking pics in public places. People can be so embarassing.

      • barbielea May 26, 2013 at 9:13 pm #

        Thanks Andrea. I now have at least one example of all the Moxie Teenz, apart from Gavin who has eluded me. I kind of think I’ve come to the end of my Moxie purchases (though you never know, I suppose) and now I need to concentrate on making some clothes or getting hold of some of the great accessory packs sold for MTs.

Leave a Reply

