Dollelgangers – Barbiebeauties Second Anniversary

16 May

Well, I’ve been writing this blog for two years to the day πŸ™‚ To celebrate, my posts are going to be all about twos this weekend. First up, my So Excellent Earrings twins.

20130516-221511.jpg

I like CG So Excellent Earrings Barbie much better than the CG Surfer wave Barbie, just about the same as CG Horse Riding Barbie, but not as much as the first wave swimsuit version. I suppose this makes her kind of average as far as I’m concerned, so it seems odd – even to me – that I have two of them. And even odder, I can’t bring myself to get rid of the duplicate. Well, this is probably partly because I have a pristine version who still wears her original clothes, hairstyle and wrist tag, as well as a pre-loved version who I don’t have to feel bad about re-dressing. I gather that this is quite a common approach with collectors, as it leaves all bases covered. Of course, while I am writing this, my inner collector is singing “liar, liar, pants on fire! You just don’t like getting rid of ANY dolls!” So I feel I have to acknowledge that this is undoubtedly the case as well.

I have generally been quite ruthless when it came to getting rid of duplicates, but in the future I’ve got a feeling that this might change. Duplicates usually look so cute together, and because we are used to viewing these dolls in identical rows in the shops, photographing them in duplicate seems like the natural thing to do anyway.

Lastly, I just wanted to say thanks to everyone who has visited in the last two years – its been fun and I’ve learned a lot from people who have left me comments. Best wishes to all xxx

12 Responses to “Dollelgangers – Barbiebeauties Second Anniversary”

  1. Sandra May 16, 2013 at 11:23 pm #

    Congrats! I enjoy your posts! I know what you mean about duplicates. We really shouldn’t have them but they are so much fun to photograph together!

    • barbielea May 16, 2013 at 11:33 pm #

      Thanks very much, Sandra πŸ™‚ They ARE fun to photograph together – I’m still not sure exactly why this is, but I’m glad you agree anyway! Best wishes

  2. museconfuse May 17, 2013 at 12:02 am #

    Happy anniversary! And I can imagine its fun having two of the same doll – one that you can just dress up as you want – especially if its a doll you really really like

  3. Teresa B. May 20, 2013 at 9:30 pm #

    Happy 2 years! I have dups that I can’t get rid of either so don’t feel bad about that! πŸ™‚

    • barbielea May 21, 2013 at 8:11 am #

      Thanks very much Theresa. It’s just that at the moment I am struggling for space, and yet there’s some dolls I have duplicates of that I can’t get rid of!! Still, Mr Bat has recently given a green light to an extension of the doll drawers so I don’t have to feel quite so guilty now πŸ˜‰

      • Andrea May 21, 2013 at 3:15 pm #

        Happy anniversary! She really is so much cuter than the first Cali Girl Barbie.

        Duplicates? Never heard of, ;)! Just kidding – guilty, I admit I have my share of those, too. The average blonde playline dolls, I get rid of in a blink of an eye. But there are those dolls who have that special something, that rings a bell with me, and then I’m stuck with them. Like the Cali Girl Leas, but who am I telling that? πŸ˜‰ And then there are the vintage dolls, those can’t duplicate enough around here. πŸ˜‰

        Struggling for Space? Constantly, but keeping my hubby from buying Barbie vehicles and houses helps a litlle.

      • barbielea May 21, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

        Thanks Andrea πŸ™‚ Ha! Another Cali Girl Lea fan! Fantastic!

        Your husband buys Barbie vehicles and houses? To the point where you have to stop him?? What a guy!!

  4. Andrea May 22, 2013 at 10:23 am #

    He is a well trained collector husband veteran. πŸ˜‰

    Realizing there was no way to get the woman without the dolls, he jumped right in and helped with my collecting.

    • barbielea May 22, 2013 at 6:19 pm #

      Now, that’s commitment for you! I think that’s absolutely lovely πŸ™‚

  5. bat6660 May 30, 2013 at 5:22 pm #

    Stop right there Andrea!!!!!!!!, DO NOT be putting ideas into her head. I am untrainable when it comes to barbie.

    • barbielea June 1, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

      Ha – once and for all settling the age-old question, what happens when an unstoppable force meets an immoveable object? x

Leave a Reply

