Dollelgangers – Double Colour Splash Skipper

18 May

A little while back, I won three Skippers with the Pizza Party sculpt on eBay. One of these was Winter Holiday Skipper. The other two were these lovely Colour Splash Skippers from 1993. As you can see, one came with earrings and the other without, but both were in good condition and still had their original plaits in. I had a tough time sorting the hair actually even though it wasn’t in bad shape to start with, because glitter strands really do not take kindly to being combed and tend to stick up all over the place.

I actually owned one of these dolls from new, having bought her as a teenage collector, but I decided she wasn’t my kind of thing and I (the shame) sold her on. I then experienced a complete turnaround in my feelings about Skipper a couple of years later and regretted it like hell. I was so glad to get her back – and in duplicate!

20130518-213055.jpg

I made them both outfits from a couple of pairs of neon socks. These were originally going to be the same – I was going for a kind of “thing one and thing two” look, but I just haven’t got the focus to do it. I made the first teeshirt and shorts combination, then found myself thinking, hmm, I wonder if a dress would look nice? Never mind, maybe next time.

This is the first time I have made trousers for a doll. It was surprisingly easy, but the fabric is a little too thick and kind of bulges where I have hemmed round the bottom cuff. Next time, I’ll use thinner stuff, or maybe hem with ribbon.

20130518-213650.jpg

20 Responses to “Dollelgangers – Double Colour Splash Skipper”

  1. thosj May 18, 2013 at 9:48 pm #

    They are really pretty dolls, and you made wonderful outfits for them! I love the neon green dress! πŸ™‚
    Tom

    • barbielea May 18, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

      Thanks Tom πŸ™‚ I think its an underestimated sculpt, I’ve really warmed to it now I have a few examples. The dress was so simple, it only took me about half an hour hand sewing! Its just a strapless sheath (no need for fasteners because it stretches) and for the neckline I used the ankleband of the sock (they were trainer socks) … glad you liked it, best wishes

      • thosj May 19, 2013 at 12:18 pm #

        You’re much more creative than I could ever hope to be, which shows in your lovely sheath as well as your photography! Best wishes to you, too! πŸ™‚

  2. kewpie83 May 19, 2013 at 7:37 pm #

    Such cute outfits! This isn’t my favorite Skipper, not sure about how tan her skin is compared to the pink lips, but I do like the the facemold!

    • thosj May 19, 2013 at 7:48 pm #

      I like the facemold, too! I also think their pink lips set off their faces so much nicer than, say, red…:)

      • barbielea May 19, 2013 at 8:58 pm #

        I’m not big on Skippers with red lips myself – its a bit too beauty pageant for me! And thanks Tom – you’re too kind πŸ™‚

    • barbielea May 19, 2013 at 8:59 pm #

      Hi Kewpie πŸ™‚ Well, my favourite dolls are usually pale-skinned, but i do like this one. Probably for mostly sentimental reasons, as I had her then gave her away. And thanks, glad you like the outfits!

  3. Teresa B. May 20, 2013 at 9:31 pm #

    I’m glad you had a second thought about Skipper. I never had one as a kid and now I’ve “rescued” three from an untimely death at a thrift store. πŸ™‚ I love the old 80’s/90’s styles like these two. Super cute outfits!

    • barbielea May 21, 2013 at 7:59 am #

      Thanks very much Theresa. Little devils kind of grow on you, don’t they? Wish I could find some old Skippers in a Charity Shop – they’re all on eBay in the UK I think!!

      • Andrea May 21, 2013 at 2:43 pm #

        She is a real cutie and I love her mold. This mold is really the perfect mold for transition of the round eyed girl, to the more grown-up Teen Skippers. I think Sipper is a lot harder to find than Barbie’s friends. Maybe parents didn’t buy them so often, because she required her own clothes.

        Talking of duplicates, I still have my duplicate Malibu Skippers from my childhood, I just had to have them as twins then. There are also duplicates of newer dolls in my collection, like Mackie molds and the Make-Up Chic Fashion Fever in the raspberry dress. No matter how hard I try, I just can’t resist that face.

        One justification is how great they photograph together, my other one is: In case something should ever happen to her, I have a substitute.

      • barbielea May 21, 2013 at 7:15 pm #

        Thanks Andrea. I never thought about that, you’re quite right – its a great transitional Tween face πŸ™‚ My excuse is usually that I am going to keep one of my duplicates as is, and mod the other one … and one day I might actually get round to doing it, who knows?

        PS. I LOVE Makeup Chic. Perfectly understandable!

  4. Taswegian1957 May 23, 2013 at 6:43 am #

    Your Skippers look cute together and I love the sock dresses. T-shirt material might work well for pants as it is a little thinner but still stretchy.

    • barbielea May 23, 2013 at 8:01 am #

      Hi Taswegian, and thanks. You read my mind πŸ™‚ I also think I need to make a much smaller hem than I usually do. Back to the drawing board …

      • thosj May 23, 2013 at 5:43 pm #

        Personally, I think the dress looks great! I also finally got a gravatar of a pic I took several days ago…I hope it works πŸ™‚

      • barbielea May 23, 2013 at 9:04 pm #

        Yes it works, I can see it. Who is the doll in your picture?

  5. thosj May 23, 2013 at 9:48 pm #

    She is the Russell Stover Barbie from 1995 – I think her pink lips and beautiful big eyes
    are absolutely lovely! πŸ™‚

    • barbielea May 23, 2013 at 10:10 pm #

      Just looked them up – I’d never heard of these dolls before so I’ve learned something tonight … She reminds me of Bubble Fairy who was produced at a similar time (who I love). That’s a great hat too!

      • thosj May 24, 2013 at 1:24 am #

        I haven’t heard of Bubble Fairy but will look her up πŸ™‚ I love everything about this Russell Stover Barbie, and yes, her hat IS great! I think it really completes this doll πŸ™‚

  6. thosj May 24, 2013 at 1:54 am #

    I found images on Google, and can see the resemblance – I’m not sure, but it looks like she was re-issued in 1998 with a different face mold – of course, it could just be my eyes –
    all that PINK! I love it! πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Skipper 15 – AA Cool Sitter Teen | barbiebeauties - June 14, 2013

    […] you believe that I’m up to fifteen Skippers now? My last two were the Colour Splash Twins, then before them I featured two still-unidentified Skippers in my Easter post, which means I must […]

Leave a Reply

