Basics Makeover – Part Two

27 May

Sorry to be repetitive, but it was what was on my mind when I got back home today. My last Basics rebodying spree (a couple of days ago) was so fun and satisfying, I ended up using my last two LIVs doing some more. But at least I (kind of) had a plan this time. My Basics Collection Two Model Five needed a LIV body because her jeans are not stretchy, unlike the black dresses worn by Collection One dolls – so if I used a Fashionista, they wouldn’t fit her any more. Similarly, my Collection 1.5 Model Three has a rigid, satin-effect dress, so a Fashionista wouldn’t have been any good for her either.

20130527-224346.jpg

As you can see, I’ve got round the shoe problem by using Teen Skipper Size shoes (the ones worn by M5 are Generation Girl Tori’s). The rest of their outfits are made up of LIV stuff and M5’s original clothes.

20130527-224557.jpg

The only thing I’m unhappy about now is M3’s hair. Its a lovely colour and storage has actually been kind to her, as her frizz seems to have flattened down. However, I just can’t get on with her sidesweep, I don’t think it suits the shape of her face at all so I’m planning on changing it at some point soon.

I’ve decided that I’m going to get rid of my model muse bodies, so I’ve put them up on eBay tonight. I doubt I’ll ever use them again, and if I need to sell my Basics at some point, I’ll just sell them as hybrids. However, I am going to keep one of the pale ones for my Stardoll, who is currently on a LIV body. It was an OK idea but it just doesn’t look right. A model muse will suit her better, and its actually a step UP on the poseability front for her. Stardoll bodies are awful, which is why I never bought any more of these dolls.

11 Responses to “Basics Makeover – Part Two”

  1. GhoulieGaby May 27, 2013 at 11:12 pm #

    I love these girls’ clothes! I’m not very familiar with the LIV dolls.. Are they by Mattel too?

    • barbielea May 28, 2013 at 9:45 am #

      I think they are by a company called Spin Master? I’ve never paid enough attention to LIVs because I’ve never been tempted to collect them, I just don’t like their faces very much. However, I’m kicking myself about this right now. You see, they got discontinued late last year so there won’t be any new ones coming out, and I should have invested in more a few months ago when they were rock-bottom cheap (prices have started to go up now). They have GREAT clothes that fit the model muse body (the cartoon print top in the pictures is a LIV item), they have the best articulated bodies available on the playline market – by a long way (Monster Highs are pretty good, but LIVS are better) and there are loads of sundry uses for their accessories, wigs and shoes. Arghh! Should have thought ahead …

      • Ian May 28, 2013 at 11:54 am #

        Try as I might I just can’t get to grips with the Liv bodies. I mean I know the articulation is brilliant and that the clothes are great but when I’ve rebodied some Mattel heads on to them I just don’t like the way they look. Perhaps I’m just too picky, and silly because our local T.K. Maxx suddenly had several Liv’s VERY for sale at ridiculously cheap prices (although clothes wise it was annoying because it was several of the same characters rather than different ones.)

        I currently have a So In Style Trichelle on a Liv body and she looks fine, apart from her feet. Perhaps it’s the feet that don’t do it for me… Guess I’m just contrary.

      • barbielea May 28, 2013 at 9:31 pm #

        Well, from what I’ve observed about your doll tastes, Ian, you have quite grown-up, classy preferences, and LIV bodies look like teenagers, not like models. I’ve also observed that I’m quite unusual amongst collectors because I actually like dolls with bigger feet (for example Flavas, or the Cali Girls). Barbie’s micro-toes kind of creep me out πŸ™‚ but I love her anyway …

      • GhoulieGaby May 28, 2013 at 7:33 pm #

        Really? Thats so strange that they would discontinue a line like that but I guess most folks weren’t into them! Now I’d like to try to find some cheap ones, myself πŸ˜‰

      • barbielea May 28, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

        You’re right, if they’d just changed the monkey faces a tiny bit I think LIVs could have completely given Barbie a run for her money on the toy market. Good luck with it πŸ™‚

  2. Andrea May 28, 2013 at 10:49 pm #

    The LIV body works great for the model with the Lea mold. but I’m partial on model 03 she looks just too grown up, especially with that hairstyle, for the more teenage body. I hope you can come up with fresh young hairstyle for her.

    I actually like LIV bodies, but their knee construction freaks me out. The knees look so weired to me, when the doll is wearing mini.

    On a beachdoll the big feet look good to me, but it is really a challenge to find shoes for them to wear with a nice dress or evening dress. Producing dolls with that shoe size, Big M should have made a shoe set for them, like they did for the gymnast’s feet.

    • barbielea May 29, 2013 at 9:41 pm #

      Hi Andrea – I’m not great with hair but I’ll give it a go! I dunno, Steffie always looks kind of baby-faced to me, although her makeup is particularly sophisticated on this particular doll …

      I know what you mean about LIV knees, they do require a little bit of suspension of belief. The first time I held a LIV, I remember thinking, what’s this plastic plate on her kneecap – whoaaa!! (as her whole leg bent back and said plastic plate kind of slid around to accomodate this).

      Hey, I never knew there was a shoe set for Gymnast Barbie! (I have one somewhere). I’d love to get hold of one of those!!

      Best wishes

  3. Heather May 29, 2013 at 4:28 pm #

    I can’t wait to see what you do with the hair! πŸ™‚
    I’ve got one girl on a Liv body, she’s so much shorter than the Barbie girls… but it’s ok, I’m making “short” part of her personality, LOL!

    http://travelingtwig.blogspot.com

    • barbielea May 29, 2013 at 9:44 pm #

      I’ve been mulling the hair issue over today (while I was supposed to be working) … not sure yet, but I reckon even just let down and straightened would look better than the sidesweep and the frizz.

      I like the fact that LIVs are a bit shorter! I think its cute. People aren’t all the same height, so dolls shouldn’t be either! Best wishes πŸ™‚

  4. amystika18n August 25, 2015 at 5:52 pm #

    Here’s a tip in case you want to rebody any more Barbies with ModelMuse bodies in the future: since the cancellation of Liv, Disney Princess dolls from the Disney Store have Barbie-style bodies with legs thin enough to fit into the ModelMuse pants.

Leave a Reply

