Lea 27 – Modern Trends Kayla

2 Jun

Its a lovely early summer evening here, so I thought it was time for a quick post about Modern Trends Kayla, a Fashion Fever doll from 2006.

20130602-212015.jpg

This beautiful thing is popular with collectors and relatively rare – I can’t believe that she practically landed in my lap, and in newly deboxed condition too (so I didn’t even have the stress of making a deboxing decision). I’d have been happy – more than happy – with nude, playworn version of this doll, but I got her in her original outfit, and her handbag has never even been taken off her hand. Cool beans! Isn’t she gorgeous?

20130602-212253.jpg

20130602-212306.jpg

9 Responses to “Lea 27 – Modern Trends Kayla”

  1. Pam June 3, 2013 at 3:44 am #

    Lovely photos!

    • barbielea June 3, 2013 at 8:15 am #

      Thank you very much Pam πŸ™‚ I was trying out a filter I’ve never used before

  2. Chicovintage June 3, 2013 at 8:10 pm #

    Wow! One of my favourites Leas ever! She is always quite expensive, I was lucky enough to got her with another FF (Drew), both NRFB at a really fair price. I am a sucker for this headmold (with Steffie, my other spoilt girl). Here you are making me wonder if I, who never ever debox dolls (only when I buy two) , am actually enjoying less my collection…because I love how they show on her beautiful boxes (the eternal dilemma between prodebox/nondeboxers)…but the way you can play with them by releasing them from their cardboard prison….BTW, there is another kayla i largely coveted, but she always scape from my embrace (the “tokyo”, pink streaks with ponytails), and the president lea, but eventually they released the last low budget dancer Lea with almost the same face screen (I bought both editions, chinese and the much better indonesian). I love your photos!

    • barbielea June 3, 2013 at 9:55 pm #

      Thanks Chico πŸ™‚ I do understand collectors who leave their collection in the box, especially with collector level dolls – they look so good in there and they stay pristine forever, of course. But personally, a doll in a box drives me crazy, its a constant source of irritation to me. I either have to debox or get rid. I think you just have to go with your gut on this issue.

      Oh Tokyo Style Kayla!! (or is she a Lea, I can’t remember) She’s gorgeous and her clothes are outstanding. I’ve never seen her for sale out of the box, and I’ve only ever seen for sale NRFB a handful of times (for VERY high prices). I think she’s a Lea I’ll have to dream on for a while, although I also said that about this Lea, so you never know. President Lea is also very beautiful, so much nicer than the contemporary Asian President doll with the modern Raquelle sculpt. Hey, when you say “dancer Lea”, do you mean this one?

      https://barbiebeauties.wordpress.com/2012/11/12/lea-21-princess-ballerina/

      Are there really two versions?? I must look into this!!

      Best wishes πŸ™‚

      • chicovintage June 4, 2013 at 6:08 am #

        You got it right! That Lea has two different manufacturing countries and subtle changes on the face screen and hair quality (a little ratty and poor). I think I have some photos on facebook,I’ll show you. And the tokyo Lea is actually benetton osaka…gorgeous!

  3. Andrea June 5, 2013 at 1:29 am #

    I think she is the most beautiful Lea ever – love that girl. It’s funny, because my MT-Lea story is almost the same as yours. I would have also settled for nude and playworn and searched the fleamarkets with eagle eyes. But never found her. Then, in a lot of Barbies I bought in via personal ads I got a nude one. She wasn’t playworn, just stripped an her clothes were not in the lot, but I was thrilled to have her. Guess what? A week later on a fleamarket, the first doll I spotted was MT Lea fully dressed. Isn’t it strange that you are looking for a specific doll and can not find one for ages, then when you found one at last they pop up all over?

    • barbielea June 5, 2013 at 8:29 am #

      Hi Andrea – you are quite right, rare dolls are like buses – you wait and wait and then two turn up at once πŸ™‚ did you keep both? I think I would be tempted, despite my space restrictions.

      • Andrea June 5, 2013 at 10:40 am #

        Well, temptation totally overwhelmed me on this one. 😳 Especially as she is so hard to find for a decent price.

      • barbielea June 5, 2013 at 12:21 pm #

        Glad to hear it πŸ™‚

        Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

