Disco Midge

7 Jun

Disco Midge, who was sold as “Midge and The Beat” in America, was released in 1990. She was one of the first Midges to use the Diva face – the way I understand it, All Star Midge just pipped her to the post for this privilege. I used to dislike these older-style Midges with their technicolour makeup and their huge freckles, but as with Skipper, I’ve ended up completely reversing my opinion. I think its because the Diva sculpt looks so modern, its interesting to see it with the older, blockier painting style.

20130607-210709.jpg

I particularly like Disco Midge’s hair, its actually streaked with blonde and looks very natural. However, her fringe (bangs) is very irritating as it appears to slope on one side. I’m not a big fan of the sheepdog fringe and I briefly considered cutting it, but her style reminds me of the twentysomethings I knew in the late eighties/ early nineties, she’s very much of her time and I decided I should just leave her that way.

20130607-212600.jpg

12 Responses to “Disco Midge”

  1. Andrea June 8, 2013 at 2:44 pm #

    Your Midge looks great and her hair is just gorgeous. I think Disco Midge’s make-up is not so overly technicolor. It works pretty well for her. I always had a soft spot for dolls with closed mouths, to me a decade of toothy smiles was just enough, so any doll sporting closed lips is welcome here. :>> You chose the perfect dress for her, it matches her coloring very well. In the last picture she looks so dreamy, great shot.

    Compared to Disco Midge’s expressive face, the pregnant Happy Family Midge looks so “plain Jane”.

    • barbielea June 8, 2013 at 10:48 pm #

      Thanks Andrea. I feel the same way about closed-mouth sculpts, I think they are far more versatile and easier to photograph. This Midge doesn’t have completely crazy makeup like Barbie and the Rockers Midge πŸ™‚ But she does have green eyeshadow which I kind of “photographed around” … well, it could have been worse.

      I’m still undecided about Happy Family Midge. Of course she’s incredibly popular and I’ve noticed that often its her picture that gets used when people are talking about generally about Midge (eg Wikipedia). I think she’s OK, and I usually quite like naturally made-up Midges … but as you say, she doesn’t look like she’d have much to say for herself … maybe I’ll change my mind if/ when I get her, I’ll see. Best wishes πŸ™‚

  2. Teresa B. June 9, 2013 at 8:44 pm #

    I love her! I like how you photographed her, awesome. I’m glad you didn’t cut the bangs. They really represent the era she came from.

    • barbielea June 9, 2013 at 10:47 pm #

      Thanks very much Theresa. I’m glad I didn’t cut it too now, it was a moment of madness πŸ™‚

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. thosj June 10, 2013 at 8:03 pm #

    I posted a reply (or so I thought) a few days ago – I guess it got lost somewhere ‘tween here and there 😦 oh, well…

    • barbielea June 12, 2013 at 9:21 am #

      Hi Tom. I checked my spam catcher, sometimes valid comments seem to get stuck in there for some reason – but it wasn’t there. Sorry about that, I don’t know what happened.

      I find that sometimes comments I make seem to get lost on blogs not hosted by WordPress 😦 on one occasion I tried to post a comment about five times then thought “what if they all suddenly start showing up, I’ll look like a looney!” and stopped …

      • thosj June 14, 2013 at 3:40 pm #

        it was probably me, I am known for having made mistakes before πŸ˜€ – I had commented on your photography skills (lovely pics) and that
        Disco Midge is also lovely – she is a very pretty doll πŸ™‚

      • barbielea June 14, 2013 at 9:25 pm #

        Thanks very much Tom πŸ™‚ she cleaned up OK, didn’t she?

  4. mangusta July 26, 2013 at 12:56 pm #

    I had one when I was a kid, you’re right, in Europe the doll was sold as Disco Midge. I lost her and then, after many years, managed to purchase her on eBay. For me Migde simply means Diva mold, though I’m aware Steffi mold was first here πŸ™‚ Cool pics!

    • barbielea July 26, 2013 at 10:48 pm #

      Hi Mangusta – yes, I always think Diva when I hear Midge too … It’s a shame the mold isnt used often any more 😦 thanks for commenting

      • mangusta July 27, 2013 at 9:17 am #

        True, it is a shame. Cool blog, glad I found it πŸ™‚

      • barbielea July 27, 2013 at 1:48 pm #

        Thank you so much, that’s very kind.

Leave a Reply

