Skipper 15 – AA Cool Sitter Teen

14 Jun

Can you believe that I’m up to fifteen Skippers now? My last two were the Colour Splash Twins, then before them I featured two still-unidentified Skippers in my Easter post, which means I must be up to fifteen. How time flies.

Anyway, my Skipper of the day is my first (and so far, only) AA Teen Skipper. She wasn’t wearing her original outfit when I got her, but she was pretty easy to identify by comparing her to photographs online.

20130614-220723.jpg

Cool Sitter was manufactured in 1998 and she came with four (FOUR!) babies to look after – ambitious girl. I can’t say that I really like her outfit, so I didn’t mind getting her without it. She’s been a challenge to re-dress, though. The Teen Skipper body can be awkward if (like me) you don’t have specific clothes made for it, so I ended up using good old Barbie Basics jeans again, and a pair of Generation Girl Tori’s shoes.

Of course, she’s terribly pretty but from some angles, not very convincing. I’m really not sure that the Teen Skipper sculpt was the most appropriate choice for an AA doll. Still, at least there WAS an AA Skipper in 1998. We could do with more contemporary tween dolls from racially diverse backgrounds, the only ones I can think of off the top of my head are from the HSM range (anybody else know of any?). What a great present that would be for Skipper’s 50th next year – just what every tween wants, a bunch of friends …

20130614-222322.jpg

20130614-222342.jpg

18 Responses to “Skipper 15 – AA Cool Sitter Teen”

  1. littlebearries June 14, 2013 at 11:49 pm #

    Ok, so here’s my total newb showing… but… AA… like, Alcoholics Anonymous? I have to imagine it’s not that… What is AA? 🙂

    http://travelingtwig.blogspot.com

    • barbielea June 14, 2013 at 11:59 pm #

      🙂 African American. Because Barbie’s mostly an American phenomenon, black dolls are usually referred to as “AA” dolls. Lol, though – bit young for the other AA yet!

  2. Blackkitty June 15, 2013 at 9:06 am #

    It’s a very pretty doll, but it’s so not AA! It looks like a really tan white kid. Mattel SHOULD make more diverse teens. Speaking of which, Asian characters are deceptively rare in the recent dolls. I would kill for an Asian fashionista. [end of rant]
    Anyway, congrats on your 15th Skipper! It seems to be in great condition and the clothes are a wonderful fit.

    • barbielea June 15, 2013 at 10:06 am #

      Thanks Blackkitty … In some Flickr groups, I’ve noticed that the Fashionista Raquelle gets described as Asian although she doesn’t look it to me … Her sculpt does sometimes get used for contemporary Asian dolls (like the current Asian “Barbie for President”). She’s OK as an Asian doll but not as good as Kira or Lea or Mariko, all of whom I love. You are quite right, it’s beyond me why Mattel STILL think its OK to produce a flagship range of white dolls with one token AA doll included – that approach was outdated ten years ago. Thinking back to the racial diversity of the late 80s and ealy nineties (and we all thought that was a pretty poor effort back then) it sometimes seems like they are moving backwards, rather than forwards … My rant over too now! For a little while, anyway 🙂

      • Blackkitty June 15, 2013 at 10:25 am #

        I have seen Raquelle dolls in real life and they are less Asian than me! (I’m less than 25%). The blonde-Barbie-with-different-accessories must stop too – they should make the accessories separate for play and make more diverse faces and colours. I am not buying any more Barbies until they make something outstanding (and I don’t buy old ones because I don’t like the body). I wish they had the SIS line in my country, that one is a big step up. The same boring face over and over is the reason I prefer MH…

      • barbielea June 17, 2013 at 8:14 am #

        🙂 I completely agree. But in the meantime – I see you paint on dolls already – why not take that further? If you like older heads but not older bodies, rebodying is quick and easy to do. I read you don’t like hot water very much! But you can make the head plastic soft and pliable using a hot hairdryer instead, or so I’ve heard. Give it a try! Best wishes 🙂

        Sent from my iPhone

      • Blackkitty June 17, 2013 at 8:37 am #

        Sure, thanks for noticing! I do have a good candidate for an Asian repaint, but otherwise I don’t think I’ll be butchering new dolls for bodies because they are kind of expensive around here (and the skin tone is still always the same). Unless I find a truly worthy head!

  3. Chicovintage June 15, 2013 at 9:13 pm #

    Teen Skipper…one of the most beautiful headmolds ever produced… You are quite right, Lea, this one is what the americans usually name as “Chocolate Dipped Dolls”. But she´s a cutie, I´m so glad they are starting to re-use that precious face again (Barbie Spain 2013, the cheerleaders…) It´s a shame how Mattel always scant ethnic characters… for some time we could enjoy the Kayla/Lea on the playline, but not anymore (with the exclusion of the Asian Ballerina from last year, such a beauty). I was never really fond of the Christie (AKA the new black barbie) and Asha facemolds, though, I always favored Shani and Nichelle… but I prefer any of them to Desiree… she´s just not my cup of tea, I´m afraid. And for Raquelle…maybe I am just a junkie in need of his next dose, but I find her the best of the fashionistas. Having said that, I don´t see her as an asian, I´m not that blind!

    • Andrea June 16, 2013 at 2:56 pm #

      She is definitely a keeper, even though her features are not really ethnic AA. I like the way you styled her and that sweater looks great.
      Chocolate dipped doll is the perfect expression. She is still a beautiful doll.

      Raquelle Asian? For me it would need a lot of drinks, to see her as Asian. Nevertheless, she is my favorite of the Fashionistas. Desiree was cute when the first playline dolls were released with that mold, but now Mattel is really overdoing it by putting that head on each AA playline doll. Why don’t they use the variety of AA molds they have, to make their playline more interesting? It’s not only the collectors, who get bored by the same face wherever you look. And I do miss the Teresa mold, she made a great Latina.

      AA Tweens are rare. I can’t think of any other line than HSM at the moment.

      • barbielea June 17, 2013 at 8:45 am #

        Thanks very much Andrea. However I start out intending to style my dolls, they always seem to end up casual! The sweater is a funny one, it’s second-hand playline and I recognise it from its original doll owner/ fashion pack but can’t think where I saw it. Annoying! Sad about the tween dolls 😦 I’d love it if they released some …

        I have comparatively few Theresas and I’m not sure why – I love the ones I do have. Funny you should say that about Latina dolls, I have a Princess Rayla (Teen Skipper sculpt) with straightened hair and she actually looks Latina.

        You are quite right about playline. Most children these days live in a multi-race, multicultural environment, it’s such a shame that Mattel refuse to reflect this for them.

        Sent from my iPhone

    • barbielea June 17, 2013 at 8:24 am #

      Yes, I like Raquelle best too, and I also like the early Summers, but they’ve all become too balloon-headed for me now. What is it with Mattel? Third or fourth wave in, they always have to swell the heads … I tried to get on with Desiree too, but I just don’t like her either, although actually I’m quite partial to an old-style Christie/ new black, and some of my favourite dolls of colour are Ashas.

      I didn’t know that there are more Teen Skippers being released, I will look into it thanks! Bet you’re excited about the Life in The Dreamhouse Midge with the Steffie face, though??

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. Andrea June 17, 2013 at 10:19 pm #

    Great, now I have to dig for my Rayla. 😀 I always thought she had the Lara/Ana facemold, so if she has a Teen Skipper mold she is in the wrong box and I should get glasses. The Life in the Dreamhouse dolls are already on my list. I’m still partial about Barbie and have to see her in person to decide on getting her. But Midge, Raquelle, Nikki and the brunette (What’s her name, actually?) are on my wishlist. I have a weak spot for dolls with real lashes and I like Raquelle’s goofy smirk. 😉

    • barbielea June 18, 2013 at 8:16 am #

      She does look quite Lara-ish but I think that’s because she also looks quite adult, being on an adult body – and she has typical Lara colouring too. I read about her use of the Teen Skipper sculpt somewhere and did a comparison, I remember being quite convinced she was a TS but now I’m doubting myself again! Let me know what you think …

      Dreamhouse dolls: I only want Summer (I think that’s who you mean? She’s kind of honey blonde with brown eyes?) and of course Midge, I’m just not sure about Raquelle and I don’t like Nikki or Barbie at all – maybe I’ll change my mind if and when I get to actually see them. So far they do not seem to be on general sale in the UK and any I could source from abroad would leave me incurring import taxes (which I resent paying) – so I’m starting to get a bit worried …

      • Andrea June 18, 2013 at 11:29 am #

        Dang, I was hoping the Dreamhouse dolls would make it to Europe. I hear you on the Import tax, that is a major pet peeve for a doll enthusiast. Yes, I meant Summer. I had a brunette doll in mind, may be because I still think Teresa, when I see a line of dolls 😳

        So I checked Rayla: She has the 1998 mark on the back of her head, which makes her a Lara. TS mold is marked 1993. But she does look very similar to TS. She would have made a perfekt Latina teen friend for Skipper.

      • barbielea June 18, 2013 at 11:33 am #

        I’ll take your word for it! Ta … Can’t remember where I read she was a TS I remember thinking at the time that she looked like a Lara …

        Sent from my iPhone

  5. kewpie83 June 21, 2013 at 6:43 pm #

    Love this Skipper! Great pictures in your post, too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Christmas Special – Cloud Queen Rayla | barbiebeauties - June 22, 2013

    […] I stand corrected (by the knowledgable Andrea in the comments on this post). Heh, there’s a reason she reminded me of a Lara – its because she IS one, not a teen […]

Leave a Reply

